NOT SWITCHING FROM 3G to 4G AUTOMATICALLY

Discussion in 'iOS 9' started by godevil1982, May 16, 2016.

  1. godevil1982 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    #1
    Hi,

    Is someone facing this problem. What happens sometimes is that, the phone displays 4G and when i move from one room to another it switches to E or 3G. i have to manually go to mobile data and toggle between E and 4G, then the 4G appears.

    i have checked with some of my colleagues, and they do not have issue with their phones. they also use the same carrier but they use samsung.

    Any leads how to solve this would be helpful

    regards,
    Krish
     
  2. dcpmark macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
  3. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #3
    It means that your E or 3G signal strength is stronger than 4G. iPhone will default to the best signal strength, not the fastest speeds. Lower the signal strength, faster your battery will die. So its a failsafe mechanism.

    Try resetting your network settings.
     
  4. Böhme417 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    #4
    I've had a similar problem with EVERY iPhone I've ever owned. Even when I know I'm in sufficient coverage, the phone refuses to "increase" the network. Whenever my phone drops from LTE to 3G or 1x, the only way I can it back to LTE is by toggling airplane mode on and off.
     
  5. daijholt macrumors 6502a

    daijholt

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2013
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    #5
    This.
     
  6. jtmo3 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    #6
    Mines been doing that since 9.3.2. It did it on 9.3.1 but no very often. It usually goes back to LTE if you let it sit for an hour.
     
  7. coolsean20 macrumors regular

    coolsean20

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2014
    #7
    Definitely been experiencing the same problem
     
  8. Enjoylife1788 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    #8
    It's also a problem when carrier's two tower reception interferes in the same place. I had the same issue at my office. Complained my carrier and they came to my place and tweaked their signal and it was sorted.

    So since you have had this issue at the same place. Try at another place and see if it happens again?
     

Share This Page