Not your normal MBA vs RMBP question!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by mstgkillr, Jun 25, 2012.

1. mstgkillr macrumors regular

I am a Civil Engineering student just finishing up my first two years of school. I plan on getting a MBA and a RMBP but I can't afford both at the moment. I plan on buying one now and the other one in about 6 months to a year.

Which one should I buy first and why?

2. stevelam macrumors 65816

students have a lot of money these days.

the RMBP will probably make more sense to wait on since there's barely anything retina-optimized and i imagine a lot of the usual civ tools won't be updated for retina for a long time, if ever.

3. Sahee macrumors regular

Sahee

Students get good jobs during their study... these days.

4. scarred macrumors 6502a

They both solve the same problems, so I'm not sure why you need both tbh.

So, with that said, if you really think you are going to get both, I'd get the cheaper one first (the MBA). That way you can see if you still need to drop money on the rMBP. Many people are surprised that the MBA is all they need.... I know I was surprised in 2011 with just how powerful they are.

5. mohsy90, Jun 25, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2012

mohsy90 macrumors 65816

mohsy90

Why exactly do you need 2 notebooks??? Are you an undergrad or grad student?

If your planning to use the MBA because of it's portability and the 15" rMBP as a home desktop, that's a complete waste of money

Settle for one, if you need the extra power and screen real estate get the rMBP. It's only 4.46 lbs, lighter than my old 13" MBP. I never had a problem carrying it around.

6. ob81 macrumors 65816

ob81

If you have no other computer, I would go with the new rMBP. I am a student and I had a MBA for a while. I eventually sold it. Wish I had a MBP at the time instead.

7. mstgkillr thread starter macrumors regular