Note to self: Shutdown Properly

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by Steve's Barber, Jul 18, 2011.

  1. Steve's Barber macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011
    #1
    So... I'm in a quite room with a bunch of people and booted into my GM Lion partition.

    With speakers wide open, the youtube video I had been watching yesterday started screaming at everyone. :eek: The mute button would've worked had I not stepped away during startup. (Thank god it was youtube. :eek:)

    If there's one thing I hope 10.7.1 fixes is that damn check box on the shutdown screen that will prevent this. I want it to remember my last choice.
     
  2. Dhelsdon macrumors 65816

    Dhelsdon

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Location:
    Canadian Eh!
    #2
    You made a thread for this?

    Seems to me like it should've gone in a 'Suggestions/Future Features' thread.
     
  3. benthewraith macrumors 68040

    benthewraith

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #3
    I'm guessing you got caught watching My Little Pony. It's okay. Just think about how much worse it could be if it were porn. ;)
     
  4. Steve.P.JobsFan macrumors 6502a

    Steve.P.JobsFan

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Location:
    Findlay, OH
    #4
    Or, the latest music video from YouTube puppet sensation Milly....:D

    Look at the new milly music vid from this link! (NOT SAFE FOR WORK!)
     
  5. stefan1975 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    #5
    no matter what you are watching, this 'feature' smells like my wife's feet. i always shutdown my mbp with all apps running, knowing that when i restart i will get a freshly restarted OSX. Now i have to stop all apps before shutting down or remember to untick that feature *every* single time.
     
  6. Lord Appleseed macrumors 6502a

    Lord Appleseed

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Location:
    Apple Manor
    #6
    As long as it's just YouTUBE, and not YouPORN....;)
     
  7. TheGdog macrumors 6502

    TheGdog

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
  8. Nuckinfuts macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    #8
    unfortunately :mad:
     
  9. TheGdog macrumors 6502

    TheGdog

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    #9
    IMO I think its a great idea, so I can shut down and have all my programs back like I had them.

    But I can see this being a problem for some.
     
  10. Craiger macrumors 6502a

    Craiger

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    #10
    Completely agree! It's a horrible "feature." They just need to make a setting so that it doesn't happen if you don't want it too instead of unchecking the box at each shutdown.
     
  11. Nuckinfuts macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    #11
    it's a great option that they imported from Linux (been able to do this in gnome for... forever) but it's kinda terrible when it asserts itself each time you shut down

    Personally, the only times I ever shutdown is to reset apps, the very thing this prevents!
     
  12. rmbrown09 macrumors 6502a

    rmbrown09

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    #12
    Dear Apple;
    If I want you to resume all the things I had open when I shut my computer down, I'll let you know. Please don't make it the default option however.
     
  13. adztaylor macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Location:
    Preston, UK
    #13
    It's a great idea when you have an update which requires a restart that way you can resume from where you left off. However it shouldn't be a default option for shutting down. Handy feature just should be an optional one.
     
  14. mrapplegate macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #14
    If it worked properly after removing the check mark the first time the OS would remember your choice for the next reboot. It does not and that is the problem.
     
  15. adztaylor macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Location:
    Preston, UK
    #15
    Yeah that's a good point, perhaps that will come in a .1 release.
     
  16. bushido Suspended

    bushido

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    Germany
    #16
    omg my sister was photoshopping a half naked popstar on my photoshop recently and i didnt know. when i went back to class and opened photoshop half naked jonas brother jumped at me. :eek:

    i'm just waiting for the first desperate person to sue apple for ending their marriage
     
  17. mdnz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #17
    Resume gives us so many nice possibilities, especially when more people are using the same Mac with no different user accounts.
     
  18. PicanteGamer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    #18
    I think this is a really cool feature that is in dire need of being optional. I love that when I have to restart for some unforeseen reason (software updates, perhaps) I don't have to worry about losing my place or work. In that situation it's awesome. However, for day to day shutdowns, I don't need it. I like to start fresh, which is also why I've disabled the app by app resume feature and opted to use the hotkey if I really want to save that particular app's state. Also, when enabled at shutdown, the resume feature makes shutting down and restarting take considerably longer, which could get a bit irritating if it was enabled every single time. Hopefully Apple will add a way to set the default setting without actually disabling the functionality.
     
  19. Patrick J macrumors 65816

    Patrick J

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Location:
    Oporto, Portugal
  20. iLog.Genius macrumors 601

    iLog.Genius

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #20
    Good feature in situational scenarios. Would really love it (and I could see this addressed in a future update) if it was off by default or if it remembered what your last option was.
     
  21. Steve's Barber thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011
    #21
    You bet! Thanks for reading. :)

    Exactly my friend. The more people aware of this "feature" the more they'll realize it ain't quite ready for prime time just yet and clamor for Apple to finish it. The inability for the shutdown dialog not to remember the setting is just an oversight. (I hope :eek:)

    I can live with just about anything that opens up automatically... just not the things that make noise. :D

    On the flip side... I can see where this is quite handy. Lion boots up with all your previous app windows and depending on your machine it's actually useable in just a short time.


    Yep. That's all I want. :)
     
  22. Elven macrumors 6502a

    Elven

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #22
    I can really see some people being red faced with the resume feature :cool:
     
  23. runebinder macrumors 6502a

    runebinder

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #23
    Haven't tried Lion yet as I'm not a developer and waiting for the proper release. How does resume differ from hibernation? Does it save a temp file to the HDD in the same way? I only have a 120GB SSD and have hibernate turned off as I don't want it taking up valuable space, so will be a pain if resume works in the same way.
     
  24. iLog.Genius macrumors 601

    iLog.Genius

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #24
    Without getting too technical, I believe the resume feature acts the same in that there is a file (albeit small according to those familiar with the feature/developers) that is saved. This is a better solution vs. hibernation since your computer is in an off state and hibernate isn't (even if the power being drawn/used is very little).
     

Share This Page