Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

calistra

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 14, 2010
Singapore
I am new to IOS/Objective C but programming in C++ / C / Java and a dozen other languages for decades...

I built the HelloWorld program on the IOS site - no problem.

Now I am trying to work my way through the samples in "iPhone SDK development".

I have a class MovieViewController

in the header file
Code:
#import <UIKit/UIKit.h>

@interface MovieViewController : UIViewController {
	UILabel	*titleLabel;
}

@property(nonatomic,retain) IBOutlet UILabel *titleLabel;

- (void) (IBAction)edit;
@end

BUT - I added a button in IB to the MovieViewController xib file and Ctrl Click the file owner and neither the property nor the action show up so obviously I cannot link the action to the button.

I only added the property to see if it would show up after having failed to get the action.

I have tried multiple variations of the action e.g.
Code:
- (IBAction) edit;
- (IBAction) edit: (id) sender;
but nothing ever shows up in IB.

Am I really doing something stupid here?

Help appreciated.
Dave.

calistra

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 14, 2010
Singapore
'fraid so.

I hit that problem the first time round.

I added a method implementation and built it, closed the project and re-opened it all just in case...

No luck.

cnstoll

macrumors 6502
Aug 29, 2010
I am not completely sure if this is required or not, but usually when I am linking an action and a button in IB, I define the UIButton as an IBOutlet in the header as well. I don't know if it's a requirement or not, but I suppose it's worth a shot. If nothing else, then you can modify the button parameters in code if you need to later.