Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

tekki

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 17, 2015
Hello

im pretty new at owning an apple watch, only a few days, but i have a question. how do i make my phone still make sounds when i receive a text message? Sometimes i dont feel the watch tap me or hear it, but shouldnt my phone still have my audible text alert?
iphone 6plus
Apple Watch SS

thank you in advance for any help

leeingham

macrumors 6502
Apr 9, 2015
Birmingham, UK
You might have it on silent. Tap up from the bottom on the watch face and scroll right to the 3 options. the far right is mute. probbaly hav it on mute

tekki

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 17, 2015
You might have it on silent. Tap up from the bottom on the watch face and scroll right to the 3 options. the far right is mute. probbaly hav it on mute
i checked and silent isnt lit. the watch makes the tap and sound, its the phone thats not doing my ringtone when the text comes in, however it does ring on a phone call, or if i shut off bluetooth so its not connected to the watch.
it just seems, that i dont get a ringtone notification if i recieve a text while connected to the watch.

Newtons Apple

Suspended
Mar 12, 2014
Jacksonville, Florida
Hello

im pretty new at owning an apple watch, only a few days, but i have a question. how do i make my phone still make sounds when i receive a text message? Sometimes i dont feel the watch tap me or hear it, but shouldnt my phone still have my audible text alert?
iphone 6plus
Apple Watch SS

thank you in advance for any help

I had the exact same problem and posted the same question!

Sadly your answer is that when using the watch you will no longer get sounds for texts or emails. On my first AW I could not feel the taps if it were up and moving about. Also the little ding was a joke in anything except a quiet environment.