novice computer user (mouse jumping around)

Discussion in 'iMac' started by county mountie, Dec 2, 2007.

  1. county mountie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Location:
    Durham, England, UK
    #1
    just got my new iMac and love it. Something annoying has just started happening. The cursor will suddenly jump across the screen. Why would it do this - it's becoming annoying:confused:
     
  2. CalBoy macrumors 604

    CalBoy

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    #2
    It's more than likely a Leopard bug.

    Until 10.5.2 comes out (or whatever release will fix it) go to:

    :apple:

    System Preferences:

    Keyboard & Mouse:

    click the "Mouse" tab and in the top left corner, you'll see a "tracking speed" slider. Adjust it. It's only a temporary solution, but you might notice less random skipping. It's worked out with my USB mouse (though I have a mbp). :eek:
     
  3. county mountie thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Location:
    Durham, England, UK
    #3
    Hmmmm

    I'm not sure what's going on. It tends to jump to the bottom or top of the screen and then tracks across without me even touching the mouse. It's just jumped to the right then the left. Anyone else having this problem? Could it be a virus/malware from the internet? If so is it recommended to get antivirus/spyware/malware software. I must admit that I thought Apple's were fairly protected from this.:confused:
     
  4. CalBoy macrumors 604

    CalBoy

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    #4
    LOL

    It isn't a virus; CALM DOWN. :)

    This has been happening with Leopard. There are a few bugs that are still leftover, but they'll soon be resolved. Wait another two or three weeks until .2 comes out, and I'm sure most of them will be hammered out.
     
  5. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #5
    mine does this all the time. its the surface that its on, the laser wont read it 100% all the time and will jump.

    lol its not a virus.

    try a different mouse pad, or different surface, or something.
     
  6. county mountie thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Location:
    Durham, England, UK
    #6
    Thank you CalBoy

    Thanks for the advice. I have reduced the sensitivity of the tracking - I will see if that helps. Sorry if I sounded paranoid, but having just made the jump from PC's and the nightmare of constant anti virus checks you tend to think the worst. Mac's are new experience and taking a little getting used to, but I think I'm going to like it...

    Actually just playing with the mouse now - already it makes for a better experience. Cheers....:)
     
  7. motulist macrumors 601

    motulist

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    #7
    It's the mouse, not the OS, the same mouse connected to an MS Win machine will exhibit the same behavior. Try using the mouse on a different surface, preferably completely unreflective, like a cloth mouse pad. If this is the same mouse connected to the same computer but the problem just started occurring, it's probably just the deterioration of the mouse or an increase in the shininess of the surface you move the mouse over.
     
  8. county mountie thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Location:
    Durham, England, UK
    #8
    Feeling like a nugget

    Thank you for your prompt replies. Sure enough, all of your tips have removed the problem (so far). Still as my old Gran used to say "It's a poor day when you don't learn something new".

    Thank you :)
     
  9. CalBoy macrumors 604

    CalBoy

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    #9
    You would think so, but it is indeed a Leopard bug. I've tried a few mice, and they all exhibit this behavior. The crawling, the random skipping, etc. Plus, it all started AFTER I upgrade my mbp to Leopard.;):)
     
  10. RevToTheRedline macrumors 6502a

    RevToTheRedline

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    #10
    I've been using a Logitech MX Revolution in 10.4.10, 10.5, and 10.5.1 and have experienced no such problem like this. The first few days I was using the Mighty Mouse on the other hand I did experience this problem in 10.4.10, leading me to believe it's a mouse problem not OS.
     
  11. wcalderini macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    #11
    Yeah.
    I had the same problem with my Mouse on my new iMac and was CONVINCED
    it had to a software problem. I was using the WoW Burning Crusade mousepad
    for the Collectors Edition and I was SURE that mouse + mousepad had to be better that just using it on the surface of my desk.
    It would periodicaly just "jump" everywhere and was getting to be very annoying.
    One I lost the mousepad and just used my desk surface, a dark matte woodgrain, all my problems disappeared. So I would give using a couple of different surfaces a shot before you did anything radical.
    Just a thought.

    WRC
     
  12. tusker macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    #12
    Though there is always a chance that in your particular case it could be a software bug, I agree with the others who have said that it is an issue with your mousing surface.

    When I got my iMac a few months ago, I discovered that the mighty mouse did not function at all on the surface I had been using with my previous mouse, and had to try out a couple of different mouse pads before it stopped skipping to the corners at random times. The mouse did this in XP under bootcamp too, so it wasn't just an issue with OS X.
     
  13. Alloye macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Location:
    Rocklin, CA
    #13
    Another vote for trying a new surface/mousepad. I've encountered the jumping cursor problem with every Apple mouse I've had since switching nearly five years ago. I finally discovered that dark matte surfaces negate the problem. In fact, I switched to an ultra-cheap, plain black mousepad from Wal-Mart a few months ago and haven't had a single cursor glitch since.
     
  14. adamfishercox macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
  15. Jingleballs macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #15
    I'm having the same mouse pointer jumping problems on a 24-inch 3.06GHz iMac Intel. I've tried:

    Replacing the mighty mouse w/ a new one.

    Using a Dell optical mouse and mouse pad that worked fine in Windows XP on a Dell computer and same surface.

    Using 3 different surfaces

    Using different USB ports

    But I'm still having the mouse pointer jumping problems in OSX and WindowsXP/Bootcamp.

    I guess I'll try using a different surface or mouse pad. I guess the software is more sensitive towards surfaces than a Dell PC. I hope Apple will fix this. It's pretty annoying.
     
  16. gixxerfool macrumors 6502a

    gixxerfool

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    #16
    I know I had similar issues and it was recommended that I put the mouse on a white piece of paper. Worked like a champ and now I have something to write on at all times.
     
  17. vc185 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    #17
    Mouse Jumping Around Problem Fixed!!!

    PROBLEM FIXED!!! :eek:
    FIXED
    FIXED
    I FIXED THE PROBLEM FOR EVERYONE THAT HAS THEIR MOUSE JUMPING AROUND. ITS NO VIRUS, NO BUG.. ITS THE MIGHTY MOUSE! :(

    I REPLACED MINE WITH A WIRELESS MOUSE, COST ME $90.00. JOB DONE.
    NO JUMPING AND MINE IS SET TO THE REALLY FAST TRACKING SPEED AND NO PROB.:D
    IM RUNNING 3.06 24" WITH 4GIG AND 1TB HD AND ITS PERFECT. NO JUMPS, NO RUNNING OFF THE PAGE.
    ENJOY EVERYONE.
    :apple:
     
  18. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #18
    1. Nice job with the all caps workaround... Ugh.
    2. Six month old thread.
    3. Were you using your mouse on a glossy or white surface? If so, changing surfaces could have saved you $90.
     
  19. imac2007 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    #19
    jumping cursor

    I had the same problem with my Imac and wireless mighty mouse to solve the problem I purchased a flat black cloth mouse pad this solved the problem. I do not now why it made a difference but it did fix my problem:)
     

Share This Page