Novice Mac User

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by catrahal, May 18, 2013.

1. catrahal macrumors newbie

I am a PC girl but want to make the transition to Mac. Still need to use PCs because I do some tech support. I want to learn the Mac OS well enough to do basic tech support for older users.

I will also be using it to triage and enhance my digital photos, put together a website, and, eventually, will be writing/editing a book. I'll also probably run BootCamp for certain apps.

The suggestion from the apple chat guys is to get a 15" MacBook Pro with the widescreen hi-res anti-glare display (I did tell them I don't like screens that reflect too much).

I'd boost to the max 8gb ram and put in a TB drive.

I am wondering if I need to spend the extra $ to go from 2.6 to 2.7 gHz on the processor or if it won't make a significant difference. Also, given that I am new to Mac, does this choice make sense? Does anyone have any other suggestions?
    Thanks!

2. B... macrumors 68000

B...

The 2.6 to 2.7 is most likely not worth it for your uses. Also, do not boost it to Apple's 8 GB as it is extremely overpriced. Installing your own RAM after getting the computer is very easy and less expensive ($60 for 8 GB usually vs. Apple's $100 more). Also, on these computers the limit is 16GB even though Apple does not offer that option.

But 8 GB should be enough. I agree that high-res anti-glare is a good choice if you will be using it a lot outside or in a brightly lit room. However, if you will be carrying it around alot, a 13" MBP might be better suited.Do you need the CD slot? If you do, then the classic line is a good way to go. If you don't need the CD slot and you will be carrying is around a lot, the 13" MBA or rMBP might actually be better suited, as website creation and photo editing don't really need the power of the 15".

3. catrahal thread starter macrumors newbie