Now iphone loses WiFi on iOS 5??

Discussion in 'iOS 5 and earlier' started by SurferMan, Oct 29, 2011.

  1. SurferMan macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Location:
    South FL
    #1
    I really liked iOS 5 at first, now it's been issue after issue. I've tried rebooting, resetting network settings, hard reset etc. My phone will only have like 2-3 bars for WiFi if I'm right next to the router, the second I start walking away it loses one bar after another. And it's not my N-Router, as all the computers work fine and my macbook pro can pick up the signal all the way out of the house on my dock. Searched online and saw a lot of people talking about this, but not really on Macrumors. Some did the above and it worked, others did all that after upgrading to iOS 5 and didn't help.

    I can't fig out what's wrong.
     
  2. Munkypoo7 macrumors 6502

    Munkypoo7

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #2
    I don't have this issue at all with my 4S / 3GS on iOS5. :\
     
  3. Thetonyk123 macrumors 68000

    Thetonyk123

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Location:
    Earth
  4. SurferMan, Oct 29, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2011

    SurferMan thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Location:
    South FL
    #4
    Yup, lot's of talk on this on boards like the discussion at Apple support. I searched on here and didn't find anything, weird. Our 4 is doing it to (I have a 3GS) so it's def software related.
     
  5. gentlefury macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #5
    I have an iPhone 4s an iPhone 4 and 2 iPad 1s, all of which are on ios 5 and none are having any problems. Sounds like your router.
     
  6. SurferMan thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Location:
    South FL
    #6
    How could it be my router when all other computers and my Macbook Pro have no problems and full bars even in different rooms, heck my Macbook picks up the signal through the FL room, past the pool/deck area, and on my dock. Def not the router, which I've already reset just in case.

    Plenty of people are having this issue after updating to iOS5, just check the discussions at apple support, mine was fine until yesterday.
     
  7. Munkypoo7 macrumors 6502

    Munkypoo7

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #7
    Well we're just trying to help :)

    I just realized too, I have every device in my home allocated with a specific IP address through my router and constantly locked in... could it be that maybe the connection gets altered mid may [interference, router drop, act of deity] then the iPhone is trying to get an IP that's already in use within your network? Which could easily clash and drop out connection.

    FWIW, I had that exact issue with my 3GS on 3.1.3, had it exchanged at the Apple Store and the replacement still had the issue... gave it a specific IP within the router settings and the issue was resolved... not that the Apple Store helped.. >_>;
     
  8. SurferMan, Oct 29, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2011

    SurferMan thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Location:
    South FL
    #8
    Not sure how to assign specific ip to an iphone. Switched channels on the router to check, but no difference, same issue.

    edit - heres one of the post from Apples Community:
    just to clarify: lots of people (incl myself) CAN connect to their wifis, but since the update the signal is so weak, that even a few steps away from the router it disconnects (tried several routers). also, the phone signal, the gps and the battery life are affected. so it shouldn't be THAT complicated to figure out where the problem is. finding the solution might be more complicated, but hey, I bought a phone, did everything I was told to and now it doesn't work. the ball is clearly not on my side.
     
  9. SurferMan thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Location:
    South FL
    #9
    I've tried rebooting again, resetting network settings etc, nothing. They barely pick up public WiFi also at places that offer it (usually 1 bar if it does). And proof that it's something with iOS 5 itself, sister came over who hasn't updated her 4 yet and it works and picks up our network perfect @ full bars. Also both the 3GS and 4 show 1-2 bars for 3G service, whereas others like my sis that haven't update or neighbors 4 have full bars on 3G.

    Apple screwed something up in iOS 5. No idea why it seems to work for some and not others, it worked on mine for about a week or so b/c starting this issue.

    another similar post just made on apples support forum:
    same problem here too. upgraded to IOS 5 and my iPhone 3GS continually connects and drops wifi. I am using 2 Netgear N600's one is a base at 2.4Ghz and the other is a repeater at 5.8Ghz. My wife's, 3GS still running older OS, our 3 laptops, wireless printer and (television and stereo receiver connected wirelessly thru repeater) all operate without any issues. I'm about to re-boot both routers but am reluctant to go much further since I too believe this is OS 5 related. Need this fixed.
     
  10. SurferMan thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Location:
    South FL
    #10
    Ok no idea what happened, but I restored once again, and go fig WiFi works now. I'm getting full bars in my home office which is on the other side of the house.

    However now I have another issue, basically no 3G or Edge service. It just keeps saying searching, or no service... and sometimes connects with 1 bar but doesn't say 3G. Opened the phone up and no lose connections or anything. :confused:
     
  11. gecko579 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Location:
    DC
    #11
    Had the "searching" issue about a week after iOS5 update (awoke to a sluggish phone having used it as alarm clock overnight, noticed no 3GS service during the day). Did a few hard resets and in the evening tried to restore the phone (this issue had occurred during one of the initial update restores this buggy update required, but a third restore had fixed it during the initial update).
    Restore hung on (phone based) set up screen "trying to register phone"-->server is busy, try again or connect to USB (iPhone message). Meanwhile iTunes reported there was no SIM card in the iPhone (there was of course, the same I had used for a year). Cleaned card/blew into SIM slot, etc, no dice.
    Support forums note there are issues with SIMs being mistranscribed and so called Apple and Service Provider (Orange here in UK) but no issues, told to bring to Apple. Brought to genius bar next day and had phone swapped out as part of troubleshooting, but still error of No SIM when trying to register. Finally got new SIM card and am restoring from BU as I write. Reading the forums it appears there are definitely issues with new OS and SIM...
    Many have had luck with multiple restores or resetting (finicky) SIMs, but indeed you may find the card is inexplicably blown...
     
  12. SurferMan thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Location:
    South FL
    #12
    Did another restore and got service back. I don't know what is wrong with Apples glitches, but it seems 50/50, others have no issues, and then others have reported nightmare problems after iOS 5. Mine was fine till a few days ago, has to be a glitch/error that was in the software that seems active for whatever reason in some phones and not others.

    Well least the phone works now, what a pain in the ass the past few days .

    Now to play with the 4 and see if I can get the same issues fixed.
     

Share This Page