Now that Bootcamp Beta doesn't work, how to uninstall windows xp?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Hot Orange, Nov 7, 2007.

  1. Hot Orange macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    #1
    I can't believe they did this! I want to remove Windows XP from my Macbook and merge the partition with the normal one for Mac OS X! Please tell me I can still do this even though Bootcamp no longer works?

    :( :( :(
     
  2. glennyboiwpg macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
  3. Hot Orange thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    #3
    !@#$!! I can't believe this!! Please guys I'm sure there's another way (through a 3rd party application or something) that will let me manage partitions and completely eradicate the one with windows and help it become an active member of the Mac HD society?


    :eek:
     
  4. amtctt macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
  5. Hot Orange thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    #5
    Well I did not even know that they were going to stop it until I tried just now to remove windows. Bootcamp assistant simply won't run and it gives you the message saying it has expired!
     
  6. amtctt macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    #6
    Hmm, i'm still able to re-boot into Windows. I know Leopard makes it easy to re-partition. :D But of course if you have Leopard, probalby don't need to get rid of XP.
     
  7. kkat69 macrumors 68020

    kkat69

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    #7
    THEY did say it was going to expire and even on the download page it was stated it would expire once leopard was released. I hate to say it but you can't claim ignorant on this one. They clearly marked it out.

    When you download it it told you it would expire. To remove it from a Tiger system is a bit tricky since Tiger does not support dynamic partitioning from within the OS. Partition manager or something similar might help there.
     
  8. jaw04005 macrumors 601

    jaw04005

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    AR
    #8
    The only way to get rid of Windows now is to boot into your software restore DVD, use disk utility and perform a clean install of the operating system.
     
  9. Hot Orange thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    #9
    Thanks for the answers everyone! I'm willing to go ahead with the system restore method after backing up my data, so I hope it works!

    Even if they did say it will expire, they should have left a way to at least remove the partition, considering I can still run Windows XP normally (but can't remove it).
     
  10. glennyboiwpg macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
  11. Hot Orange thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    #11
    Well the thing is I plan to sell my Macbook, and then prolly get a Macbook Pro with Leopard when it's available from Amazon (or is it now?). So need to prepare the machine for the buyer.
     
  12. Airforce macrumors 6502a

    Airforce

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    #12
    So just do a reinstall of the entire OS. That way you don't have to worry about passwords and such getting into the hands of your buyer.
     
  13. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #13
    What's your system date set to? It's not supposed to expire until after 1/1/08.
     
  14. byakuya macrumors 6502a

    byakuya

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    #14
    that is what I was wondering about too...
    the 1.4 version was supposed to be valid till that date.
    I think if you still have the 1.3 version then you might be out of luck because I think that version really got disabled a while ago.
     
  15. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #15
    1.4 is here :)
     
  16. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #16
    NONONONONO!!!! just reset your date and time to like june 2007 or something. then you can. thats what i had to do

    if you do this it will become unexpired and you can remove the partition without having to do a clean install.

    an install should be THE LAST piece of advice ever listed. comeon people
     
  17. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #17
    You can only get 1.2 that way. Not 1.4.

    I have no idea if this is possible, but have you tried manually setting your computer clock back to before the Beta expired?

    EDIT: ah, apparently that is possible.
     
  18. Hot Orange thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    #18
    Great advice everyone, thanks! I'll try the time reset idea just for fun, but then I think I'll just re-install the OS to prepare the machine to be sold.

    Thanks! While I'm at it (I know this is the wrong place to ask but...). Will the Leopard-ready Macbook Pro be available at Amazon anytime soon? I don't think they sell it now :).
     
  19. Jasonbot macrumors 68020

    Jasonbot

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Rainbow Nation RSA
    #19
    cant you just set the date on your mac back by a bit?
     
  20. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #20
    yup

    nice avatar by the way!
     
  21. phuong macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    #21
    reseting date back in June won't work. it happened to me.
     
  22. Hot Orange thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    #22
    Actually setting back to june worked for me! I had 1.2 apparently. Now reinstalling Mac Os X. Thanks everyone. Didn't think it would be that simple :p.
     
  23. Lancetx macrumors 68000

    Lancetx

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Location:
    Texas
    #23
  24. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #24
    did you use 2007 or 2008 as the year lol
     
  25. phuong macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    #25
    hmm, either that, or i forgot to deselect the internet time sync thingy.
     

Share This Page