Now we have Leopard, should we use Win7 64-Bit?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by dissdnt, Aug 31, 2009.

  1. dissdnt macrumors 65816

    dissdnt

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    #1
    Now we have Leopard, should we use Win7 64-Bit instead of 32bit version in Parallels and Bootcamp?
     
  2. jmpage2 macrumors 68030

    jmpage2

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #2
    I'm guessing you mean "now that we have snow leopard" should we run win 64 bit?

    You could run 64 bit Windows 7 even on regular Leopard under Fusion/Bootcamp. I've been doing it for months.
     
  3. After G macrumors 68000

    After G

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #3
    Why not use both, if you need to?

    I'd say if you have 3 GB RAM or less, run 32 bit. 4 GB RAM and up, run 64 bit.

    If you have a number in between 3 and 4, you're probably running 4 but your OS doesn't support it all.
     
  4. dissdnt thread starter macrumors 65816

    dissdnt

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
  5. thepro8 macrumors member

    thepro8

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    #5
    Yup. I just upgraded to SL. I'm installing Win 7 Pro 64 bit (final version) now.
     
  6. Bill Gates macrumors 68020

    Bill Gates

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #6
    The overall performance of the VM's will be slightly worse with 64-bit versions of Windows, at least according to Mactech. There's no compelling reason to switch your VM's over unless you need to allocate over 4GB of RAM to a virtual machine. Snow Leopard alone doesn't change anything with respect to 32-bit or 64-bit virtual machines, at least at this point in time.

    As far as Boot Camp is concerned, I would install a 64-bit version of Windows there since compatibility is good and there are theoretical performance gains, however slight. If you already have Windows installed I see no compelling reason to reinstall a new version just to change to 64-bit.
     
  7. dissdnt thread starter macrumors 65816

    dissdnt

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    #7
    So your saying if your using windows for both bootcamp and parallels stick with 32bit because then you'll have to install both versions and that will be a waste.

    Another question I had is in Windows will you be able to select which graphic card your using?
     
  8. Bill Gates macrumors 68020

    Bill Gates

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #8
    If you already have a working 32-bit installation I wouldn't bother switching unless you are using 64-bit applications with known improvements under 64-bit versions of Windows. With that said, if you decide to upgrade to Windows 7 I would install a 64-bit copy right off-the-bat.

    Under Windows you will be forced to use the 9600M GT. The 9400M is not available for use.
     
  9. dissdnt thread starter macrumors 65816

    dissdnt

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007

Share This Page