Now where should I back up to Time Capsule?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by matrix07, Mar 18, 2014.

  1. matrix07, Mar 18, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2014

    matrix07 macrumors 68040

    matrix07

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #1
    This is beginning to be un-Apple-like complicated. I just want to back up to my new Time Capsule but when I chose Select Disk... I got this (external is my old backup).

    [​IMG]


    So where should it be? "Data" or "Other Time Capsule"? :roll eyes:

    PS: I don't have any external attached to TC.
     
  2. ColdCase macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    NH
    #2
    Use Data on "Time Capsule". The external is listed because your TimeMachine set up for it, connected or not. You can manually remove it from the list if you want.
     
  3. matrix07, Mar 19, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2014

    matrix07 thread starter macrumors 68040

    matrix07

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #3
    Thank you.

    Btw, anyone knows how to check what is my Time Capsule formatted?

    The reason I ask is I tried to migrate my old Time Machine to Time Capsule. I did everything this guy instructed but got the message "the volume has the wrong case sensitivity" when I pasted backups.backupdb folder to it.
    The Apple support said this is because the Time Capsule is formatted as Mac OS Extended but without journaling per this document. I can't fathom why my Time Capsule would be formatted like that. If anyone knows how to check I would be immensely grateful.
     
  4. MatsSkoe macrumors member

    MatsSkoe

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2013
    Location:
    Rotterdam
    #4
    Disk Utility should provide the solution one way or another.
    Try adding the Time Capsule, File --> Open or Preferences --> check remote hard drives.

    I have no way to verify, but it is something!
     
  5. matrix07 thread starter macrumors 68040

    matrix07

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #5
    Thanks. Since it's dealing with a delicate issue like my Time Machine disk, I'll wait for more solutions to see what is more appropriate but thank you very much for your help.
     
  6. matrix07 thread starter macrumors 68040

    matrix07

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #6
    I think I might find the cause (I haven't check yet but will check tonight). I might make a mistake formatted my external that stored old back up in Mac OS Extended journaled with case sensitive.

    Damn you Apple, you just have too much file system to select. :mad:
     
  7. matrix07 thread starter macrumors 68040

    matrix07

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #7
    Now I'm not so sure anymore.
    [​IMG]

    Still need to check my Time Capsule drive if it's really *journaled*.
     
  8. priitv8 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Location:
    Estonia
    #8
    If you're on 10.8 or 10.9, you could back up to all your available disks (both Data and MBA External).
    Can't hurt to have redundancy also in backup disks, can it?
     
  9. matrix07 thread starter macrumors 68040

    matrix07

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #10
    Thanks. I plan to do just that. With external being encrypted and will be stored at my office. :p
     

Share This Page