Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

the ev

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 14, 2008
Okay, I found this neat code snippet that allows me to make a NSTextField that resizes as text is entered. While I'm still pretty new at all of this, I managed to edit it and tweak it the way I wanted it to work, but I still have three problems that I can't seem to figure out.

1. I've two CCDGrowingTextField's in my App; one that is editable, and the other than basically mirrors the text in the first but is not editable. The resize works great on the one that you type into directly, but the second one doesn't seem to resize at all. Any ideas?
  2. I would like the NSTextField type on the first (editable) field to pill-shaped (specified in Interface Builder), but when I'm typing in text, the text jitters from side to side very slightly. Is there anyway I can eliminate that jitter?
  3. My application window starts very small. I would like to have the window resize horizontally depending on the width of the CCDGrowingTextFields, so if the fields grow the window edge will grow with them. How can I accomplish this? Also, along the same lines, once my TextField approaches the edge of the window, the background changes slightly. Can I get rid of this glitch too?

To illustrate all three of these problems, here's a link to a short video screencast I've made of how my App works now. (NOTE: the text jitters more or less depending on what letter I use; here's the 'o' really only jitters once, but if I use another letter it jitters much more. The jitter also only happens while text is being entered.)

Here's the modified CCDGrowingTextField code that I'm using:

Code:
#import <Cocoa/Cocoa.h>

@interface CCDGrowingTextField : NSTextField
{
	float defaultLeftMargin;
	float defaultRightMargin;
	NSRect defaultFrame;
}

@end

Code:
#import "CCDGrowingTextField.h"

@interface CCDGrowingTextField(Private)