Nullriver Medialink and Playstation 3

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by wsj412, Oct 17, 2008.

  1. wsj412 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #1
    I cannot get PS3 to recognize (connect) with my MacBookPro following an update to MediaLink 1.59. With the earlier version of MediaLink I could look at photos on our tv via PS3. Now I do not get the icon for MediaLink when looking at, for example, photos on PS3. I have written numerous notes to Nullriver through their support site (on their web) but have yet to receive a response. Any suggestions would be most appreciated.
    Bill
     
  2. MarkMS macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    #2
    Do you have the firewall in OS X turned on to "only allow essential services"? Also, do you have "Stealth Mode" enabled in System Preferences>Security>Firewall tab>Advanced?

    If so, try turning down the firewall a notch ... to "Allow all incoming connections" or "Set access for specific services and applications".
     
  3. wsj412 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #3
    Nullriver Medialink and PS3

    Mark,
    Thanks for your speedy response. I did (and do) have firewall set to allow all incoming connections. Unfortunately I still can't seem to get the two machines (Mac and PS3) to connect. Any other suggestions. Again, before updating MediaLink I would have the MediaLink icon on my PS3 Photo setting. Now it is not there.
    Thanks again for your rapid response.
    Bill
     
  4. i.shaun macrumors 6502a

    i.shaun

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #4
    hmm, I wouldn't think that this is a network problem, if it happened just after the update.

    have you completely uninstalled it, and tried again?
     
  5. wsj412 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #5
    Hi,
    I just uninstalled/reinstalled medialink and still have no connection. Through another forum I tried TwonkyMedia but cannot successfully install that software. So I am still stuck. Any other suggestions would be appreciated.
    Bill
     
  6. i.shaun macrumors 6502a

    i.shaun

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #6
    You have 1.54??


    I just checked mine, and it is 1.34 It tells me that is the latest update.


    Mine never used to work, but after reinstalling Tiger, it worked perfectly. I hope you won't have to resort to that.
     
  7. wsj412 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #7
    Yes, I do have MediaLink version 1.59 (at least that is what my registration says!). I am running Leopard, not Tiger. And, am still not able to get the PS3 to recognize my MediaLink (MacBookPro).
     
  8. i.shaun macrumors 6502a

    i.shaun

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
  9. wsj412 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #9
    I stopped and then restarted MediaLink and now it seems to be working (at least partially). I can now see most of my photos but cannot listen to music.
     
  10. downingp macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    #10
    I am in a similar situation. I just got a PS3 and found out about Medialink. I have a good internet connection; the PS3 "sees" my music, and photo folders However, when I try to select an particular artist or photo album it keeps saying "there are no tracks"
    I went to the Medialink website and it says to go to the Medialink preferences and make sure the "share only checked songs" is unchecked. I did that I still can not play music.
    I would say 99% of my music is in Apple Lossless format. Should Medialink be able to stream Apple Lossless files?

    thanks
     
  11. crj1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    #11
    Apple Lossless Format Not Supported

    Unfortunately Medialink does not support Apple Lossless format. I emailed them about 6 months ago asking if they had plans to support them and they said they did but wouldn't say when. Until then you're stuck with the list on the Medialink site --> http://www.nullriver.com/products/medialink

    I am also now unable to access my Mac from my PS3 - I'm sot sure if this is since the upgrade to 1.59 of Medialink or to OS X 10.5.6 or both. Is anyone running these versions successfully? I did make a change to my Airport Extreme settings a few days ago as my iTunes was unable to stream music to my Airport Express - I set IPv6 Mode to Tunnel and unchecked Block incoming IPv6 connections but setting it back to local-link only doesn't help my PS3!
     
  12. w1d3y macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    #12
    Bit off topic, i have medialink and generally works ok. Also share house with 2 other people who both have ps3's. Is there anyway i can stop them stealing my precious music and films from the mac.?!
     
  13. henkesboots macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    #13
    On the same topic, if I am running medialink, would my neighbour with a PS3 also get to see all my media files?
     
  14. i.shaun macrumors 6502a

    i.shaun

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #14
    Only if they're on your network (they may steal a wireless signal)
     
  15. henkesboots macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    #15
    Thanks, my wireless is passworded so that should be ok!
     
  16. Bambography macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    #16
    Hi, I don't want to hijack the thread, but has anyone had any problems installing Medialink on 10.4.11? I've tried bit 1.7 & 1.72 but I always get the message 'Could not load MediaLink preference pane'. Are there known clashes?
    From the searching i've been doing this seems a unique problem so if anyone has any ideas please let me know.
     
  17. Bambography macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    #17
    Thanks for all the replies....!?!

    Anyway, sorted it now. It turns out that when the download was picked up by SpeedDownload 4 it messed it up. Once I Downloaded direct from the site without using speed download it loaded fine. Just got to get the PS3 on now...
     
  18. belgerles macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    #18
    I have media link and have been running it for sometime. My wireless network is coded and I only have 1 ps3, but when I go to the devices it says that there are 4 ps3's. Is there people stealing my stuff and how do I get this to stop?
     

Share This Page