Nullriver releases MediaLink for PS3 for $20!

Discussion in 'Console Games' started by jaw04005, Jan 7, 2008.

  1. jaw04005 macrumors 601

    jaw04005

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    AR
    #1
    Finally, a cheap uPNP server for PS3 users. It's $20, available now. From Nullriver,

    MediaLink for PlayStation 3 now available!

    Today, we are announcing our newest media streaming product for the PlayStation 3! Until now, streaming your Mac's media to the PlayStation 3 has been a chore. Not anymore. With MediaLink, you'll get the solid PlayStation 3 integration you'd expect from your Mac. The free trial is available for download today!

    http://www.nullriver.com/
     
  2. jaw04005 thread starter macrumors 601

    jaw04005

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    AR
    #2
    By the way, doesn't support streaming M4A music files. Also, keep receiving DLNA server error while streaming MPEG-4 files. :(

    They'll fix it.
     
  3. nordesmic macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #3
    Yeah I've been waiting for this release and I'm a bit disappointed that it doesn't work straight off the bat. I kept getting the server errors as well. I couldn't stream anything whether it be DivX or MP4.
     
  4. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Other
    #4
    Looks like it needs more development time, at the moment its barely functional.
     
  5. spyker3292 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Location:
    Michigan
  6. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Other
    #6
    Just installed on my mac pro as well as my macbook pro.

    I can stream no problem with my mac pro, but my mbp is still being a pain ? :confused:

    I have connect 360 installed on both computers and it works with either. There must be some setting on my mbp that has gone crazy. :eek:
     
  7. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Other
    #7
    Update.... finally got rid of the DNLA error message from my mac pro.
    I had to refresh the airport DHCP and disable and re-enable Apple Talk and finally the DNLA error stopped coming on the PS3 screen.

    So it's working good, and I'm just sat working in my front room with the PS3 streaming music, whilst working on my laptop...

    Great stuff :) $20 well worth it.



    (ooh and I just found the new 'planet' visualiser on my PS3 which was a nice surprise too)



    Further edit... still get the odd DNLA error. It doesn't seem to like A LOT of files and gets confused. Oh well and update should sort that I hope.
     
  8. jaw04005 thread starter macrumors 601

    jaw04005

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    AR
    #8
    I emailed Nullriver about AAC (unprotected M4A) support:


    AAC is not currently supported, as the PS3 is unable to play back iTunes format AACs. But we're working on a solution.

    ~

    XXXXX XXXXX
    Nullriver Software

    support@nullriver.com
    http://www.nullriver.com


    Of note, I could have swore El gato's EyeConnect streams M4A from iTunes perfectly.
     
  9. 2nyRiggz macrumors 603

    2nyRiggz

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Location:
    Thank you Jah...I'm so Blessed
    #9
    I still can't get the thing to see my itunes library....my itunes library is on an external but theres no option to point it in that direction....oh well.



    Bless
     
  10. P-Worm macrumors 68020

    P-Worm

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #10
    I could never get that to work. Only pictures, MP3, and some video. I'm going to give this a shot.

    Edit: I can't get this thing to connect. It says I need to open ports 9385 and 9386. From what I can tell, I have done this. Is there a way to ping the ports or something to make sure that they are open and it isn't a fault of my own?

    P-Worm
     
  11. e²Studios macrumors 68020

    e²Studios

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    #11
    Care to elaborate? I like a most of the responses on the board have failed to get this product to work, an "awesome great product" should work and this one fails on even the basic level.

    I'm sure Nullriver will get it right with updates, but they should have tested this more before releasing it and asking for money.

    Ed
     
  12. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Other
    #12
    Can you not add the folder you want in the preference pane on your mac under sources, press the + and then select the external drive / folder ?
     
  13. risc macrumors 68030

    risc

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #13
    Just installed MediaLink 1.02. Everything I've tested works great. Time to buy it I think.
     
  14. P-Worm macrumors 68020

    P-Worm

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #14
    Version 1.02 broke the whole thing completely for me. It won't load in the system preferences anymore. The icon is there, but when I click it, the preferences just turns into a blank screen.

    P-Worm
     
  15. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Other
    #15
    DNLA errors all day today. Getting annoying now :rolleyes: Nothing has changed so why isn't it working today ?
     
  16. Zwhaler macrumors 603

    Zwhaler

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    #16
    I tried the trial and liked it. But I think I might wait awhile before buying so the bugs are worked out.
     
  17. nordesmic macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #17
    They have fixed the problem with the h.264 encoded files for me in version 1.1, although now it doesn't provide thumbnails of the videos.

    Music works very well. Photos are slightly more temperamental. It seems to disconnect occasionally but I think this might be due to problems on my wireless network.

    The developers are clearly improving the product all the time and because of this I handed over the $20.
     
  18. rotlex macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Location:
    PA
    #18
    Just adding another positive experience here. Downloaded this morning, and all is working without any issues at all! Actually better than connect 360, which I could never quite get to work right.

    Anyone know if they plan on adding Aperture library support in the future? That would be one huge positive for me, as I hate having to use iPhoto for anything.
     
  19. snapper07 macrumors 6502

    snapper07

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    #19
    Just downloaded the trial version of this and connects fine i can see the photos in iphoto but when i go to play a song from itunes it says there are no tracks. I've put all my songs on itunes using the apple lossless encoder, is it because of this that it won't recognize the tracks?
    Also my podcasts don't show up ether.
    Is there a solution to this?

    Ta
     
  20. P-Worm macrumors 68020

    P-Worm

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #20
    Is anyone else getting the port error like I am? I have a Belkin router which I think is tripping it up, although I have opened up the ports it says to.

    P-Worm
     
  21. Josh396 macrumors 65816

    Josh396

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Location:
    Peoria/Chicago, IL
    #21
    I'm getting the same problem as well. I'm using a Linksys router but the weird thing is that as soon as I installed MediaLink, I started to get the same problem with Connect360. Before today my Connect360 worked perfectly. Anyone have any input?
     
  22. bigbossbmb macrumors 68000

    bigbossbmb

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Location:
    Pasadena/Hollywood
    #22
    downloaded the trial this morning... worked great for the movies that i've encoded for the PS3. None of my music was working, kind of a drag. I think I may just throw all the movies onto an external USB drive and watch 'em from there.
     
  23. spreadthin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #23
    I am not getting MP4s encoded with handbrake to work...

    Using the PS3 Setting...If I put them on the hard drive they work. Music is working (no cover art) pictures working (mostly), video starts to play, skips a bunch, then gives up. How are you encoding video?
     
  24. tobefirst macrumors 68040

    tobefirst

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #24
    Hey, what do you guys think are the best settings for ripping movies and tv shows? I've tried Handbrake's PS3 setting, but it isn't as high quality as I would hope for. What should I adjust?
     
  25. P-Worm macrumors 68020

    P-Worm

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #25
    Well, the newly released 1.2 is working for me now. I'm not getting that same error. However, all of my DVD's are currently ripped in h.264 for the AppleTV and those won't play through the PS3 yet. I guess I'll just give it some more time.

    P-Worm
     

Share This Page