Numbers: How to keep first row fixed?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by deconstruct, Dec 18, 2007.

  1. deconstruct macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    #1
    Hello. I am working on a spreadsheet in Numbers. I have the columns in the first row labeled as categories. How do I keep the first row "constant" so that I don't have to keep scrolling back up to see what category I am in? In other words is there a way to keep the first row locked, so that as I move down the spreadsheet I don't have to keep going back up to see which column I should be inputting data in? Thank you in advance.
     
  2. nemex macrumors regular

    nemex

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Mexico
    #2
    I guess you mean how to freeze pane views, seems no such option exists in Numbers

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=400332&highlight=freeze+panes+in+numbers

    Sorry :(
     
  3. WhySoSerious macrumors 65816

    WhySoSerious

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #3
    ....*still banging head on desk over and over and over*... :mad:
     
  4. nemex macrumors regular

    nemex

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Mexico
    #4
    Yes, I know it's really frustrating...

    Have you guys considered using another solution such as NeoOffice? is free and even it might not be as flashy as iWork 08, I gets the work done. Is a cool app, and yes it does have the freeze panes feature among many others

    Cheers! :apple:

    BTW Happy Holidays!
     
  5. chrisirwindavis macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #5
    On the Table Inspector tab of the Inspector, choose "Freeze Header Rows" in the drop-down list of "Headers & Footers".
     
  6. rbrian macrumors 6502a

    rbrian

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    #6
    Yep, I can confirm that works... It is fairly well hidden though.

    Edit: Wow, zombie thread. Sorry!
     

    Attached Files:

  7. wnoder58 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    #7
    freezing columns in numbers 09

    I have followed all of the posters suggestions, but when i do this, all the program does is add columns. I delete these columns and try to freeze the first 3 columns again, and it just adds more columns in front of my existing columns. What am I doing wrong? 1. I made the first row a "header row" 2. I went to inspector and choose 3 columns 3. I also have tried to go to "table" and freeze 3 columns. All these efforts just give me 3 new columns in front of my existing columns. Thanks for help, this seems to be a problem with the Numbers program.
     

Share This Page