nVidia GeForce 7300 GT inside Mac Pro (2008)

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by TyleRomeo, Jun 27, 2009.

  1. TyleRomeo macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Location:
    New York
    #1
    Can the nVidia GeForce 7300 GT run inside a mac pro (2008)?

    I know the 2008 have PCIexpress 2.0 slots but they still have two 4x PCIexpress 1 slots. I am already running two displays from my nVidia GeForce 8800GT and I want to use my plasma TV as a 3rd monitor. So i need a cheap solution and the nVidia GeForce 7300 GT just might do the trick. Anyone know if this is even possible? I really don't want to buy a ATI 2600XT just to connect a plasma TV to my machine.
     
  2. Andrew Henry macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    #2
    I'm sure you probably can, I don't see why not? I'm running a 4870 & 2600XT in mine, but I'm sure it's compatible.

    Andrew
     
  3. TyleRomeo thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Location:
    New York
    #3
    Yeah I would think so Andrew. Apple says it can not in their documents, but apple also says that no cards from the PCIe G5, Mac Pros 2006, 2007, or 2008 are compatible with each other. So i don't know what to believe. Has anyone stuck a 7300GT inside a 2008 Mac Pro to see if it works? Also if anyone has a used 7300GT laying around let me know cuase I'd love to take it off your hands for you.
     
  4. jefe2000 macrumors newbie

    jefe2000

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay Area
    #4
    Yes, I just now tried this. I pulled a functional NVIDIA 7300GT out of an original Mac Pro (year 2006) and put it in my early 2008 Mac Pro. My Mac Pro would not properly boot* with the NVIDIA 7300GT installed in one of the x16 PCI Express 2.0 slots. I tried various configurations (with the OEM ATI card, without the OEM ATI card, either of the x16 PCI Express 2.0 slots, etc.) to no avail.

    *The Mac Pro, with the NVIDIA 7300GT installed would boot to the gray apple on gray background screen, think awhile, reboot, boot to the gray apple on gray background screen, think awhile, reboot… This cycle would continue until I hard powered-off the Mac Pro.
     
  5. CaptainChunk macrumors 68020

    CaptainChunk

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #5
    The Apple 7300 GT will not work in a 2008 or later Mac Pro because its firmware is EFI-32. 2008 and later machines use EFI-64 firmware.
     

Share This Page