nvidia geforce 7300gt questions.

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by the vj, Feb 26, 2009.

  1. the vj macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    #1
    Hi

    I have 3 nvidia geforce 7300gt cards. I am planing to install them on my 2 x 2.8 GHz Quad Core Intel Xeon Mac.

    Now, the cards themselves has some extra slots different than the PCI connector. Does anybody knows what is the use of those?

    I believe I saw some where some video cards can be linked together in a sort of multicore processing. But I can not find any information about that, and I still wonder what the extra conector is.

    It is located at the opposite side of the board and is smaller, probably half inch long.

    Thank you.

    http://www.techfuels.com/attachments/everything-else/6488d1223721468-nvidia-geforce-7300-gt-video-card-nvidia-geforce-7300-gt-video-card.jpg
     
  2. macuser154 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    The 7300GT can be used in a multiprocessor arrangement, NVIDIA calls this SLI. OS X unfortunately does not support SLI, at least at this point in time.

    SLI requires that the cards be linked together using a separate connector on the card. This is the connector you can see.
     
  3. the vj thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
  4. simulacrum macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    #4
    Excuse my stupidity. I have this same card, and a PowerMac G5 dual 1.8. I want to add the card to my machine because I have two separate DVI monitors that I want to set up to work together.

    First: Will I need to add a stronger power supply to my machine to run this card as well as everything else?

    Second: In regards to the original poster's question, if I do not care about SLI, do I need to concern myself with the small half inch PCI connector at the top? Will my AGP card and this card successfully run two DVI monitors w/o SLI?

    Third: Will this work or am I risking damage to my computer? Thanks.
     
  5. the vj thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    #5
    Excuse my stupidity.
    * You are not, others are.

    I have this same card, and a PowerMac G5 dual 1.8. I want to add the card to my machine because I have two separate DVI monitors that I want to set up to work together.

    * I believe the video card that comes with your machine can handle both monitors already IF you have 2 DVI outputs and at least 256MB of video ram.

    First: Will I need to add a stronger power supply to my machine to run this card as well as everything else?

    * No, is not need, the CPU will run the extra videocard or any PCI dvice without any problem.

    Second: In regards to the original poster's question, if I do not care about SLI, do I need to concern myself with the small half inch PCI connector at the top? Will my AGP card and this card successfully run two DVI monitors w/o SLI?

    * No, the small port is to link both cards and make them work like one. But some motherboards support that, Apple does not. If you want to add an extra monitor probably your video card can handle 2 monitors already or get another video card just like the one you already have and place it on any other PCI port.

    Third: Will this work or am I risking damage to my computer?

    * Just open the computer as the owner manual says, is very simple, place the extra card and that is it.
     
  6. bigbossbmb macrumors 68000

    bigbossbmb

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Location:
    Pasadena/Hollywood
    #6
    you can't put the 7300GT in an AGP-equipped G5...

    the card you have in the G5 will run two monitors
     
  7. simulacrum macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    #7
    Thanks for the response VJ. The AGP video card that came with my machine has an ADC and a DVI video output. Works fine with the old ADC monitor I had, but now that I have two DVI monitors I either need an adapter or another card. I actually have an extra AGP video card, but my G5 only has one AGP slot, and 3 PCI slots...

    I tried putting in my video card, and it's not quite the right size for the slots. The middle slot is slightly too long, it doesn't line up with the notches. Mine is a PNY, but it was so exactly like yours in every way I thought for sure it would fit just like yours did... I'm bummed. :(

    Thanks for your help though. I guess I just need to break down and spend $80 on the AGP to DVI adapter, or break down and spend $300 on the Mac only DVI Video card, or break down and re-install my old monitor and put my new one in the closet. Congratulations Apple! You win again. Take more of my money.
     
  8. simulacrum macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    #8
    Thanks for your post. You're right, it doesn't fit. Unfortunately my current card has ADC (or whatever Apple's crappy video format was) and DVI, not two DVI.
     
  9. huntercr macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    #9
    If I recall correctly, there is an ADC -> DVI adapter that is kind of expensive, but works.
     

Share This Page