NVIDIA GeForce 8800gt not officially supported by Aspyr

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by docseuss68, Mar 5, 2008.

  1. docseuss68 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    #1
    Have been unable to get Civilization IV to launch on new Mac Pro (4gb ram) with 8800 graphics card. After exchanging several emails with Aspyr, I received the following today:

    Hello,

    After talking with our IT guys I have found out that we have not yet been authorized to purchase a GeForce 8800 video card for the Mac. This is not too surprising as this video card has only been out for the Mac about a month. Until we are able to do a full test sweep of our titles on that video card we cannot officially support that card for any of our games. Hopefully this will not take too long to get sorted out. There are a few possibilities for how this will get fixed. Either we will be able to fix this and patch the game, or we will have to work with Apple to fix problem drivers, as we are not at liberty to fix Apple drivers, or a Mac OS X update will resolve this issue.

    Have a nice day,
    Aspyr Tech Support


    Not sure if the graphic card issue is just with this game, other Aspyr games, or even with other game makers. Would appreciate a list of any games that people with a GeForce 8800gt have been able to run under OS 10.5.2
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    Crock. Who's to stop them?!
     
  3. Pressure macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #3
    They also don't support the Geforce 8600M GT found in the MacBook Pro's.
     
  4. Krevnik macrumors 68040

    Krevnik

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    #4
    The dictators they assigned to the IT department. In larger businesses, you usually assign a gatekeeper on business purchases to prevent the company from bleeding out in business expenses.

    That said... it is pretty messed up that the machines have been out for a month, and they haven't gotten a single unit in for test purposes.
     
  5. redsteven macrumors 6502a

    redsteven

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    #5
    NOT COOL MAN, not cool.
    This isn't a legacy card or anything, so I wouldn't expect you to have this problem... of course, you probably weren't expecting these problems with your spanking new video card either.

    Ask what the troubleshooting procedure for other NVIDIA cards would be i guess....
     
  6. maccanuck2006 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Canada
    #6
    Civ IV crashes regularly on my SR MBP with the 8600M whenever I turn on AA. Its fine without it.
    Haven't tried it on my Mac Pro yet.
    However, I have had all sorts of crazy video artifacts with Madden 08 for OS X on the Mac Pro with the 8800 GT. I think it may all be about the drivers.
     
  7. docseuss68 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    #7
    Sorry for my abbreviation ignorance, but what is “AA”?

    Ok found it: Anti-Aliasing. Is this a setting controlled within the game? I have never been able to open Civilization IV. Error message occurs when trying to launch.
     
  8. maccanuck2006 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Canada
    #8
    Do you have the latest update from Aspyr?
    What are the specs of your machine?

    AA is an video option available only after you get past the splash screens; you will need to relaunch Civ after making any changes to the video or audio settings.
     

Share This Page