NVIDIA GeForce GT 120 for 2008

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by rpaloalto, Mar 5, 2009.

  1. rpaloalto macrumors 6502a

    rpaloalto

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Location:
    Palo Alto CA.
    #1
    Is their any possibility the GT 120 would work in the 2008 mac pro?
    I want to get the new 24'' ACD for my mac pro. I'm not so sure I want to also spend $350 for the ATI 4870. The price of $149 seems like a better deal for what i need and want.

    I just looked at the Apple store website it says compatible with just the 2009 mac pro.
     
  2. RankinBones macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    #2
    GeForce GT 120 mac pro early 2008 compatability

    My ATI Radeon 2600 video card fried this week in my Mac Pro 2 x quad core 2.8ghz Intel xeon processor machine. The guys at the Apple store said the GT 120 might work in it but they were not sure. I was in a pinch and didn't have time to overnight something else so I took the chance and bought it.

    Earlier in the day I had done a archive and install on the system because I was still troubleshooting it and thought it might have been a system issue.

    So I installed the new card and things worked perfectly...for about a day...until I did the complete software update to 10.5.6. After completely updating the OS the computer no longer worked. I would just get a blue screen and nothing else. I was able to get the computer up in Safe Boot mode which is how I am using it as we speak. I'm ordering the exact same ATI Radeon 2600 that went bad and I'll install that and see if it was indeed a bad video card. Hope this helps you.
     
  3. bocc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    #3
    So, did you get to the bottom of ? As I heard that the 120 works fine on the 2008 macs. And why would the card work fine for a day and then cut out ?

    I think it wwould be interesting to know your conclusion for otherss that are thinking of swapping out the 2600 for GT120
     
  4. Spanky Deluxe macrumors 601

    Spanky Deluxe

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #4
    It should work if you have 10.5.7 installed - chances are it would need the updated nVidia graphics drivers from 10.5.7 or from the custom 10.5.6 that was shipped in Nehalem Mac Pros.
     
  5. bocc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    #5
    Thanks for the reply. That seems to make pefect sense and and sheds light to the guy above's problem
     

Share This Page