NVIDIA GeForce GTX 285 confirmed for June release

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Jamnabot, Apr 29, 2009.

  1. Jamnabot macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #1
  2. AdvocateUK macrumors regular

    AdvocateUK

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Location:
    Billingham, United Kingdom
    #2
    lol you beat me to it by a minute, we must have been posting at the same time.
     
  3. Chaszmyr macrumors 601

    Chaszmyr

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    #3
    I'd be willing to bet it won't work with 2006 Mac Pros.... But it's going to be coming out approximately the same time as OpenCL... I think I see a new Mac Pro in my future.
     
  4. cmaier macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Location:
    California
  5. Jamnabot thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    I'll admit to needing to be being fairly optimistic to want this to be an option for 2006 MacPros, but...damnit I want it to be an option!
     
  6. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
  7. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #7
    As am I.

    Looks like I'll be moving my GT 120 up a few slots...

    Hmm... 4870, GTX 285, and GT 120...

    Nahh... THAT won't be too much of a draw!
     
  8. Inconsequential macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    #8
    Ok.

    If 10.5.7 doesn't fix the 4870 mouse issue it goes back and gets replaced with the GT120!

    Love to have THAT card :D
     
  9. FRKT macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    #9
    Would a GTX 285 and a Radeon HD4870 be able to work together somehow under Windows, or are we looking at a clean-cut case of replacing the HD4870?
     
  10. rainmanbk macrumors 6502

    rainmanbk

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Location:
    Southington, CT
    #10
    From Appleinsider.com

    I currently own an original 2006 Mac Pro and I am still running the Radeon X1900. I'd love for this to be an option, but I feel like it will not be because of the issues with the previous upgrade card from nVidia, requiring that special treatment to deal with the lack of proper PCI Express 2.0 slots, or whatever the deal was. :(
     
  11. zmttoxics macrumors 65816

    zmttoxics

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    #11
    I too am surprised... eVGA no less... Wow.

    Well, hopefully my new software dev job will pay enough so I can get some new age Mac Pro.
     
  12. turtlebud macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    #12
    afraid how it's going to be priced

    with equivalent Radeon 4870 HD running about 1/2 on much on the PC side, would it be safe to assume the GTX 285 is going to be about twice as much as the PC version (which is currently around $350-400)? I'm guess that's going to run about $600 when it first comes out at least.
     
  13. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #13
    Windows XP and Seven can mix manufacturers. Vista can't. You can't use both cards in one computer simultaneously, anyway. You would need to use all of your PCIe slots and one ODD slot.

    ROM.
     
  14. JollyRogers macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Location:
    Virginia
    #14
    And I just received and installed my HD4870 from Apple today. EVGA gives lifetime warranty on their cards (at least they have on their PC versions). Now I wish I had waited... oh well.:(
     
  15. matthew.russo macrumors regular

    matthew.russo

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #15
    hmmm 1 GTX 285 or 2 4870's in xfire..what would be better?

    Does the 2008 or 2009 support SLI?
     
  16. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #16
    I'd love to upgrade to a GTX 285 from my 8800 GT, but we'll see. If not, then not. :)
     
  17. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #17
    You can't use CrossFire in OS X or without using all five PCIe positions and an entire ODD slot.
     
  18. matthew.russo macrumors regular

    matthew.russo

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #18
    It would be for windows only obviosuly, gaming :)

    If the 08 mac pro supports sli I would ditch the xfire setup.
     
  19. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #19
    No Mac Pro supports SLI.
     
  20. matthew.russo macrumors regular

    matthew.russo

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #20
    Thats the answer I was after :)
     
  21. grue macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    Somewhere.
  22. XianPalin macrumors 6502

    XianPalin

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
  23. grue macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    Somewhere.
    #23
    I suspect they'll ruin my hopes and dreams by making it EFI64-only, unfortunately. If they do, that'll probably push me over the edge and I'll sell my 8x3.0 and get a 2008 used model.
     
  24. turtlebud macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    #24
    aperture & FCE

    is this card a good choice for aperture & final cut express relative to the 4870 and/or the the XT2600?

    how is the power consumption vs. the 4870 (which I read was a power pig from digitalloyd)?
     
  25. cmaier macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #25
    Probably little difference for things like aperture and final cut.
     

Share This Page