Nvidia GTX 770 or MP4.1/5.1 issues - help

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by lexR, Jul 12, 2014.

  1. lexR macrumors regular

    lexR

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Hi guys and girls, just started my MP up for the first time in a few days and everything was fine then the screen started to mis behave.

    then it threw me out of the OS to login screen and everything went a bit crazy

    [​IMG]

    i then shut down the MP, checked internals/ram/pci slots/ connections etc and found bizarrely one of the ram modules was not seated properly, not sure if this happened on removal of the logic board as never had any warning signs of incorrectly positioned ram.

    I then restarted the system and still had the screen above. With the system running i removed the DVI connector from the GTX 770 and installed it in the other DVI connector.

    Question is... has anyone seen this before? is this a card related issue? if not is it a hardware or software issue?

    Mac Pro 4.1 to 5.1 upgraded 12 core 2.93
    12GB of 1066 ram
    PCI- e SSD boot drive
    GTX 770 2GB GPU - PC type (unflashed)
    OSX Mavericks
     
  2. AkuskaUK macrumors 6502

    AkuskaUK

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Location:
    Shanklin, Isle Of Wight
    #2
    Hi, I would say from that image that it's a graphics card failure.
     
  3. NOTNlCE macrumors 6502a

    NOTNlCE

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Location:
    DMV Area
    #3
    That's a graphics card failure if I've ever seen one, and I've seen 3 in the last few months. Get that thing replaced. GPU companies will do it for free, you just gotta ship it to them. What brand is the card?
     
  4. lexR thread starter macrumors regular

    lexR

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    its a GTX 770
    [​IMG]

    its still working on one of the DVI's do you think it will fail completely then? thanks for your help
     
  5. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #5
    ^^^^That wasn't the question. We know it's an Nvidia GTX 770. The question was what brand of Nvidia card is it. MSI, Gigabyte, Evga or etc. From your pict. it looks like a reference card, but which one?

    Lou
     
  6. lexR thread starter macrumors regular

    lexR

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    [​IMG]
    Nvidia its looks exactly like the picture above, i purchased it second hand and it came with all the Nvidia documents. Apologies
     
  7. NOTNlCE macrumors 6502a

    NOTNlCE

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Location:
    DMV Area
    #7
    Regardless of whether the DVI works through one port or not, it should function perfectly through ALL ports. Please take a look at the physical card and find the manufacturer so we can point you to the proper place to RMA the card. You should see "EVGA" or "MSI" or "GIGABYTE" or another BRAND name somewhere on the PHYSICAL card, which will indicate what to do/where to submit a claim for a replacement. In the mean time, if you have another computer you can throw the card into, it would be good to confirm the issue isn't just with your Mac Pro. The manufacturer should be happy to replace the card for you. It's just a bit of shipping and waiting.
    -N
     
  8. lexR thread starter macrumors regular

    lexR

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    well the live chat didn't yield any answers (that i didn't know already) just that, and i quote:

    'this should be expected you are running an unsupported card in a Apple Mac Pro, as you can see from this page the card is clearly not supported with your OS

    http://www.nvidia.co.uk/Download/index.aspx?lang=en-uk

    only the 680 and 8800 mac editions are support'

    true i guess, tried to say that the OSX mavericks has the relevant drivers to run the cards but that doesn't really answer the question to is this just a driver conflict on one DVI output (which is why I'm running fine on the other DVI) or if the card is on its way out.

    thanks for the help.
     
  9. lexR thread starter macrumors regular

    lexR

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    Apologies for my ignorance, yes this is actually a EVGA card I'm guessing by the logo by the PCI-e pins

    [​IMG]
     
  10. NOTNlCE macrumors 6502a

    NOTNlCE

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Location:
    DMV Area
    #10
    Yeah, that's what you're looking for. EVGA is very helpful with their RMAs. I've gone through the procedure twice, myself.
    http://www.evga.com/howtorma/
    That's the RMA link there. If you can run a few tests on your own, it's good to do so. Pick up a GPU testing app like Cinebench or Luxmark and see if it crashes your system. If it doesn't, it could just be an issue with that single DVI port, which should still warrant a replacement. Make sure you have a spare - I was stuck with a Geforce 405 while my GTX 660 was out for replacement. Sorry for your bad luck with a bum card, buddy. Hope all turns out well!
    -N
     
  11. lexR thread starter macrumors regular

    lexR

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    [​IMG]

    card performed fine in the DVI that was working, don't really want to tempt fate and do the same thing again with the DVI that originally had the problem... next boot up i will swap them over and see if that DVI is still not working.

    Thanks so much for your help with this i will contact EVGA and get the ball rolling so to speak, i have a Quadro 600 at work i could pinch for a while if it does get sent away.

    so bizarre... anyway thanks again.
     
  12. Korican100 macrumors 6502a

    Korican100

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    #12
    is this a flashed 770?

    Or were you running it out of the box? And if you were, how did you get a bootscreen?
     
  13. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #13
    Did you happen to read the first post? It ended with:

    Lou
     
  14. lexR thread starter macrumors regular

    lexR

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #14
    Lou (flowrider) knows the person who can flash non Mac Edt cards so you can get the boot screen - this might be an option for you if you require
     
  15. NOTNlCE macrumors 6502a

    NOTNlCE

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Location:
    DMV Area
    #15
    NVIDIA cards OTHER than the GTX 680 cannot easily be flashed. MacVidCards sells flashed cards and also offers a service to flash a card you send here: http://www.ebay.com/usr/macvidcards
     
  16. Korican100 macrumors 6502a

    Korican100

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    #16
    got it. So OP normally doesn't even see the login screen. Then all of a sudden, he sees this messed up login screen
     
  17. lexR thread starter macrumors regular

    lexR

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #17
    Well just an update, swapped back to the faulty DVI port this morning on boot up and same problem, now the card is not working in any of the ports and she is dead... # so will have to limp through on borrowed card and try and get it swapped over with EVGA.

    Thanks for all the replies and guidance #
     
  18. NOTNlCE macrumors 6502a

    NOTNlCE

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Location:
    DMV Area
    #18
    Glad to help. Sorry again for the bad luck. EVGA is very, very helpful with their RMAs. Just make sure you test the new card as thoroughly as you can before you just "accept" that it's functional. The first card I got back from them had a memory error and would crash under load.
     
  19. lexR thread starter macrumors regular

    lexR

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #19
    Well my system is back up and running, EVGA replaced the card with a new GTX770 which appeared to have an updated firmware? Unsure, but with the new card fitted, a number of tests carried out and the newest drivers and cuda software downloaded and all seems well...

    Thanks again to all that helped, this ended up being a scary time but with a positive outcome!
     
  20. NOTNlCE macrumors 6502a

    NOTNlCE

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Location:
    DMV Area
    #20
    Glad to hear everything turned out fine. EVGA is very good about replacing their products. Excellent over the phone customer service, as well. Enjoy your new card!
     
  21. peterburner macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    #21
    @leXr, now that you fixed the problem - would you be so kind and check which score your card gets under Cinebench R15 OpenGL-test? That would be great. I am just figuring out which card above my installed ATI 5870 (in a MP 5.1, 12c x 2.93 ) scores higher. My score is 62 fps and I am in need of something around 80 fps or higher. Thanks in advance.

    peter
     
  22. lexR thread starter macrumors regular

    lexR

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #22
    Yes ill run the test tonight and post the scores/results here, got a small issue with the fans not behaving as normal after the osx 10.10 public beta, I've reset the SMC but the apple hardware test stalls during the pre test so can't work out what changed... I'm able to control fans with istat but not ideal.
     
  23. lexR thread starter macrumors regular

    lexR

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #23
    have you read this?

    http://www.c4dcafe.com/ipb/Benchmarks/cinebench.html
     

Share This Page