Nvidia GTX680 Mac Edition

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by tony3d, May 21, 2015.

  1. tony3d macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    #1
    Is the Nvidia GTX680 Mac Edition discontinued? I can't find it anywhere brand new. Really?
     
  2. Macsonic macrumors 65816

    Macsonic

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    Earth
    #2
    Yep the 680gtx Mac Edition by EVGA was discontinued a month ago. Wish they still offered the card. It had a 2 year life cycle from its introduction in April 2013. It sold well as there was a time Amazon and OWC ran out of stock.
     
  3. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #4
    Seems he's sold out at the moment. That card went over like gang busters, they should have continued it. Plenty of money was left on the table. I would have gotten myself if it weren't for FCPX.
     
  4. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #5
    You can buy a new PC 680 and flash it with the Mac EFI. It's fairly easy.
     
  5. tony3d thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    #6
    And how is that done?
     
  6. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #7
    Get any reference GTX 680, EVGA is a good choice. Here is a confirmed list if you want to consider other cards too, including non-reference cards. 4GB cards are also possible, that's what I have.

    Pre-requisites:
    • You will need Windows running on the Mac Pro.
    • You will need to download nvflash.
    • If you get a 2GB model, you'll need to download the ROM for a 2GB card.
    • If you get a 4GB model, you'll need to download the ROM for a 4GB card.

    Then use the following procedure in Windows. Don't turn off the power, reset, or try to flash during a period of electrical unreliability (storm, planned rolling brownouts, etc.)

    1) Copy all the related files to a single folder that is easily accessible from the command prompt. I suggest you make a new folder C:\mango. At a minimum it should include the following:
    nvflash.exe
    GTX680-4GB-ROM.rom (or whatever the 2GB ROM is called)

    2) Open a command line prompt. Click Start button, type CMD, and press Enter. A command line window will open.

    3) In the command line window, navigate to the folder with the files. If you used my suggestion, the command would be:
    Code:
    cd c:\mango
    4) Backup your existing firmware, so that you can flash it back to factory if needed:
    Code:
    nvflash --save original.rom
    4) Flash the new firmware (filename assumes the 4GB ROM):
    Code:
    nvflash -4 -5 -6 GTX680-4GB-ROM.rom
    5) If it asks for confirmation, press yes. When it says to wait, wait.

    6) After it is successful, reboot and you will see boot screens.

    7) Celebrate!

    Alternatively, I just upgraded to a GTX 980 and would like to sell my EVGA GTX 680 FTW 4GB. If you are interested in a used one that's successfully flashed, has been working fine for years in OS X and Windows, and has faster clocks than stock (it's a FTW edition card). If so, PM me.
     
  7. tony3d thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    #8
    Wow, sounds a bit complicated. Probably more so than it actually is. Has anyone dealt with macvidcards ? He has a lot of cards that require no modifications.
     
  8. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #9
    I have purchased from him twice. Great vendor and excellent products. If he has an offering that suits your needs, you won't be sorry you made the purchase.
     
  9. tony3d thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    #10
    I see you bought a 7970 from him. How does that compare with the Nvidia GTX 970 4 GB Mac Edition he sells?
     
  10. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #11
    Yes, I bought my GTX 980 from him. I give him the thumb's up.

    If it sounds complicated, it's because I provided quite literally step-by-step instruction.
     
  11. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #12
    I can't personally make a comparison between the two since I've never had my hands on the GTX 970. I'm going to assume the 970 is much more powerful except for openCL. I need OpenCL for FCPX so for my application I believe I selected the right card for me. I also value Apple supported drivers out of the box. That was a major consideration for me. Apple is heavily invested in AMD video hardware, so I don't have any concerns about OS X not supporting my hardware.

    That said, I may eat my on words before long. I've been eyeing the MVC TitanX.
     
  12. nigelbb macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    #13
    If you can live without the boot screen you don't need to flash a GTX680 to have it work in a Mac Pro. In fact you even need to use the Nvidia web drivers as the GTX680 is supported by OS X native drivers as is the GTX570 which I have & bought used is the best bang for buck graphics card for the cMac Pro.
     
  13. tony3d thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    #14
    The main reason I need the boot screen is because I frequently switch between Windows, and OS X.
     
  14. xSinghx Suspended

    xSinghx

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012
    #15
    I was quite sad to see the 680 removed as well as I wanted an upgrade.

    One thing to keep in mind if flashing yourself and someone can correct me if I'm wrong but if you screw up any of those steps to flash the card you may brick it, washing your money down the drain.
     
  15. Pieterr macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #16
    What videocard do you have installed now? If it only requires (less than) 75W like e.g. the GT 120, you can keep it in for boot screens.

    And buy a stock GTX 970 or GTX 980 to get the latest greatest videocard (no bootscreen needed).
     
  16. tony3d thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    #17
    Currently I have an ATI 5870 installed.
     
  17. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #18
    The actual flashing is a single step. If that is interrupted by power loss, hitting the reset button, etc., then yes. The other important bit is to make sure you have a compatible firmware.

    But even so, there are ways to recover from a bad flash such as having a second card around (preferably different brand) to boot up to flash from, or clearing the ROM by using a wire to short the pins.

    I've flashed many times and never had a problem. If you've ever updated a PC motherboard BIOS, or did the official Apple Mac Pro firmware update, then you've flashed too.
     

Share This Page