O2 data tariff open zone wifi problem

Discussion in 'iPad' started by AnDi86, May 29, 2010.

  1. AnDi86 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Location:
    Ballymoney N.Ireland
    #1
    Is anyone else having trouble connecting to the bt open zone hotspots with the iPad on an o2 data tariff, I popped in the mobile number that my account states and I just get an error?
     
  2. gavd macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    #2
    What error did you receive? I haven't been anywhere to try mine yet but might be somewhere today with an Open zone.
     
  3. Seamaster macrumors 65816

    Seamaster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
  4. kaelell macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    #4
    if its the business bt openzone hub then unfortunatly that doesnt count and we wont be able to connect. have that near my work offices and sadly I cant make use of it.
     
  5. AnDi86 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Location:
    Ballymoney N.Ireland
    #5
    Nah, it was a btopenzone one in starbucks not those fon ones!

    I tried it again y'day putting in the iPad number in the view account info under the settings in the cellular data settings, but it returns with an authorization error! Any one else having said problems?
     
  6. Seamaster macrumors 65816

    Seamaster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    #6
    Just had exactly the same problem myself. Authorization error tried the micro SIM number every which way (+44... 44... 07...), no joy.

    This was at a pukka Openzone hotspot rather than a fake Fon one.
     
  7. spinstorm macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #7
    Not that this is a solution to your problem but use a star bucks card top up £5 and buy your coffee using it and then you can log in to free wifi using the starbucks card you have.
     
  8. AnDi86 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Location:
    Ballymoney N.Ireland
    #8
    Yeah I just used that but I would like to be be able to use other openzones
     
  9. Sirolway macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Location:
    London
    #9
    I just had the same problem trying to access Openzone in Caffe Nero:

    "We're sorry, we've been unable to capture your device and iPad number details"

    Please call O2.

    So I'l do that &see what they say (they generally seem pretty good.

    I seem to remember having the same sort of issue on the iPhone & the next day it worked fine. Perhaps it just takes 24 hours to activate / register? We'll see

    Of course, wifi is unencrypted, while 3G is secure, so I'm not sure using Openzone generally is a great idea anyway?
     
  10. Sirolway macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Location:
    London
    #10
    I finally got my iPad connected to Openzone.
    As I suspected, it just seemed to take a couple ofndays after first trying, before e iPad seemed to be registered.

    In terms of whatbnumber to enter into the Openzone web site, I went online with 3G, then looked at my account detailsnto get the cellular number of the iPad. It started 447... I entered 07... and that worked

    Hope it helpls
     
  11. freelander macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    #11
    Same here, replacing the 44 with 0 seemed to do the trick.
     

Share This Page