O2 sim cards

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by Nonentity, Jun 10, 2009.

  1. Nonentity macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    #1
    I've had an unlocked 2g and 3g thanks to the dev team. However last month i decided to switch to an O2 simplicity plan, thinking that using an O2 sim will mean i will not have to worry about unlocking and updating basebands etc (i.e. i'll be able to install 3.0 on the 17th and not have to wait for the dev team).

    When I got my sim I did not bother to restore the phone or uninstall yellowsnow. A week ago i attempted a restore (I still used a custom firmware incase i was wrong so I'm still on 2.28) without yellowsnow. However I could not get any signal at all, so i reinstalled yellowsnow and was able to get signal fine.

    Anyone have any ideas as to what's happening? Is it possible to use any O2 sim card in an iPhone? Is it not working because I need the updated baseband?

    Any insight into this would be very much appreciated as i'd like to be using 3.0 the day it comes out.

    Thanks all!
     
  2. Moi un Mouton macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    Bracknell UK
    #2
    I think a Simplicity SIM should work, if I remember the updates correctly. Rather than using a custom firmware, try restoring to stock 2.2.0 and see if it works then.
     
  3. Nonentity thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    #3
    That's a sensible idea, I'll give it a go when i have a spare hour.
     
  4. Nonentity thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    #4
    Ok so I've done a restore with the 2.2 Firmware and that works fine. Does this mean it's safe for me to upgrade to 2.2.1 (including the new baseband) and then 3.0?
     
  5. Moi un Mouton macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    Bracknell UK

Share This Page