Resolved O2 Tethering UK

Discussion in 'iOS Apps' started by Macman45, Mar 18, 2012.

  1. Macman45, Mar 18, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2012

    Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #1
    Has anyone with an O2 contract in the UK tried tethering Thier iPad? The policy on the site seems to indicate that they do support it, but price is vague, and customer services suck.
     
  2. MonkeySee.... macrumors 68040

    MonkeySee....

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    On my 4s I have a "personal hotspot" option. It's that the same as tethering? I've not tried it yet
     
  3. Macman45 thread starter macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #3
    That option is greyed out and not selectable on my 4S, but that may be be ause I'm on wifi when I'm home....I don't think they are exactly the same thing, but I'm not well up on hacking and tethering stuff...It's something I'd like to have as an option if away from wifi, and carrying my iPad, or MBA around.

    In the US, Verizon offer it as an option on a PAYG basis....Just. Can't get the pathetic O2 customer services dept. to give me an answer.
     
  4. JUiCEJamie macrumors 6502a

    JUiCEJamie

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    #4
    I'm on my iPad, tethering as I type this.
    With my plan, tethering/personal hotspot doesn't cost any more. It just counts towards your data allowance.

    I've got "The Works" which is 1GB a month. (£10.) Just about what I use.
     
  5. Macman45 thread starter macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #5
    I've got the " All Rounder " for iPhone....It's my phone, purchased from Apple. So I can tether and just use my normal data allowance? I'd like to have it confirmed from somewhere definitely!....:)
     
  6. MonkeySee.... macrumors 68040

    MonkeySee....

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    Mmm ok. I'm on the £37 a month contract. Maybe it's included in my plan
     
  7. Macman45 thread starter macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #7
    So I'm guessing you got your iPhone through O2?
     
  8. MonkeySee.... macrumors 68040

    MonkeySee....

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    Yeah. 2 year contract :(
     
  9. Macman45 thread starter macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #9
    Well, if it's okay for you to do it it should be okay for me....Thing is, they don't like people who buy phones from Apple...They can't screw as much money out of me...I might try it and get a whopping extra bill just for doing it....I guess I'll try phoning them again...That "ask lucy" thing is a piece of C*** and the CS staff are no better! Thing is, the service and coverage are excellent..
     
  10. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #10
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone 4s: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9B179 Safari/7534.48.3)

    It's included in all O2 iPhone contracts with a data limit. Those like me still on unlimited do not have the option and must purchase a separate bolt on data allowance.

    Basically if you have a newer contract with a 500mb+ cap it'll just eat into that when you tether (personal hotspot)
     
  11. Macman45 thread starter macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #11

    I have a 1GB allowance....That's good to know...If I need to use it I just will, I give up of ever getting a straight answer from the so called Customer Service section. I sent them an email, but I'm not holding my breath waiting for a reply anytime soon. It's rare I'm without wifi anyway, but it does happen from time to time.....ThNks for the info!..:)
     
  12. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    Give O2 a call. Internet tethering is included on the all rounder data bolt on! I had the same problem, I needed up having to carry out a clean install, which was slightly annoying.
     
  13. Macman45 thread starter macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #13
    Damn...I'll try them again tomorrow, it's not like I'm in a rush for it....On the web site, my account shows that I have a bolt on, but it isn't clear what it's actually for....as clear as mud..Thanks for the tip..:)
     
  14. MonkeySee.... macrumors 68040

    MonkeySee....

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #14
    Exactly. I'd rather have gone with 3 but I live in the sticks and I have two hopes of getting a signal
     

Share This Page