O2 UK 3G Network Dieing Out

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by rajkbala, Oct 1, 2008.

  1. rajkbala macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    #1
    Hi Guys

    It seems O2 is suffering a lot with its 3G Network. Today I checked my iPhone and found out that there is No service. I tried reset also and found it is still not working. I put the sim into Nokia N81 8GB Mobile and found out there is no Network as well. After that I put the sim into O2 XDA Orbit and there was network. It seems that 3G Network is down. I turned 3G off in iphone and there is service again.

    Hope O2 is upgrading its network for better performance.

    Is there any one suffering from same problem.

    Regards.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. MikeDTyke macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #2
    I've noticed in the last few days that 3g at work, which wasn't great before has degraded to the point of no bars, and missed calls.

    As at home and other places are quite clearly 4+ bars i've assumed that it was the local cell near my work place. Also no matter where i am, i'm finding any data activity, browser, email etc are taking substantially longer.

    Whereabouts are you seeing the issue?


    M.
     
  3. rajkbala thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    #3
    O2 UK 3G Network

    At the moment I am in Rayners Lane, Middlesex area

    Before I was having problem in Liverpool Street Area
     
  4. johnrs macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    Nottingham - UK
    #4
    I have been having the same problem in Nottingham. Thought it might have been to do with the fact I have recently jailbroken my iphone but I guess not
     
  5. markl9 macrumors newbie

    markl9

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #5
    Glad I stumbled upon this thread, same issue here in Kensington.
     
  6. ajnicho macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    #6
    No issue here. Inside a building and have full strength 3g signal.
     
  7. angrywaiter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    #7
    I'm in the Liverpool Street area and haven't experienced any problems.

    What time was this happening ?
     
  8. Nicholas.C macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    #8
    i noticed today that i didn't have any service.. when i normally have at lest GRPS... i had nothing for an hour..
     
  9. sparkyms macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Location:
    Southampton UK
    #9
    I guess the software is still having issues with changing towers.. because even with 3G on, it should still be able to connect to 2G towers, regardless of whether 3G is toggled on or not..
     
  10. rajkbala thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    #10
    It was Friday night and saturday morning. My iPhone was showing full 5 3G bars but when I tried to make call it just says Call Failed and also I was not able to receive any calls but text was working fine. I switched of 3G and it was working. It happened to me like 3-4 times.

    Is it then my iPhone is faulty?
     
  11. nc1584 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #11
    Was having this problem last week in Westminster, St. James Park Tube area. Find in London now, but keeps dropping on the commute home....:mad:
     
  12. markl9 macrumors newbie

    markl9

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #12
    I'm back up to a full 5 bar 3G signal at work now, so looks like a localised issue which lasted a coupleof days.
     
  13. BergerFan macrumors 68020

    BergerFan

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Location:
    Mos Eisley
    #13
    After reading the thread title, I thought O2 were changing their corporate colours or something.






    Sorry :D
     
  14. johnrs macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    Nottingham - UK
    #14
    The few times its happened to me its only lasted a few mins at most. Happened once yestersday that I noticed
     
  15. ryanwarsaw macrumors 68000

    ryanwarsaw

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    #15
    I have always had a bad connection and am in Surrey.
     
  16. Stepper macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Location:
    North London, England
    #16
    I got 2 bars reception right now but im inside on the basement floor of a 4 story building lol but as soon as I step outside I get a full 5 bars 3G
     
  17. mkjj macrumors 6502a

    mkjj

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Location:
    Liverpool
    #17
    Here in Liverpool City Centre when I first got the 3G phone, only had 1 or 2 bars, now full 5 on 3G all the time
     
  18. dubhe macrumors 65816

    dubhe

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Location:
    Norwich, UK
    #18
    I'm on a BlackBerry with O2 and no problems, though it is of course only GPRS/EDGE...
     

Share This Page