O2 UK - Nationwide Data Outage

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Pixellated, Jul 21, 2009.

  1. Pixellated, Jul 21, 2009
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2012

    Pixellated macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    #1
    Just noticed this afternoon. Any other Uk'ers affected?

    BBC Article
     
  2. Steve Jobs=God macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    #3
    I'm in Plymouth and i didn't have any data issues, however i know of friends also in Plymouth who have, so guess my area wasn't affected
     
  3. Pixellated thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    #4
  4. Nipz macrumors 65816

    Nipz

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    Im in plymouth too and me and a couple of mates didnt have but others did!

    02 told me today i would be back up by 6 and it was.
     
  5. ChazUK macrumors 603

    ChazUK

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Location:
    Essex (UK)
    #6
    Mine was down today (Thurrock, Essex). I didn't realise how much I used my iPhone until today!
    I'll test it tomorrow as I am home now using WiFi.
     
  6. ct2k7 macrumors 603

    ct2k7

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Location:
    London or Florida
    #7
    No, there was a fire at a power station that's caused the local outage. My sister lives in Darford :)
     
  7. ct2k7 macrumors 603

    ct2k7

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Location:
    London or Florida
    #8
    I take that back,

    http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/technology/8161938.stm

    I thought it was related, but I hear that there's still no electricity back in Dartford?
     
  8. matttye macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    Lincoln, England
    #9
    FYI - I'm on PAYG and have had troubles accessing the net today too.
     
  9. ct2k7 macrumors 603

    ct2k7

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Location:
    London or Florida
    #10
    CS confirmed that ALL iPhone, not just PM are experiencing the problem.
     
  10. m477h3w macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #11
    My internet was working when I got up this morning but getting the 'Could not activate cellular data network' again now :mad: In Bristol, UK.
     
  11. OllyW Moderator

    OllyW

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Location:
    The Black Country, England
    #12
    Still working here in the Black Country. :D
     
  12. m477h3w macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #13
    Haha, thanks for the update :rolleyes: Perhaps I should consider moving :D
     
  13. John T macrumors 68020

    John T

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Location:
    UK.
    #14
    OK here in Cardiff, touch wood - just hope I haven't spoken too soon!

    Having said that, the whole web via landline seems pretty slow this morning.
     
  14. PeckhamBog macrumors 6502

    PeckhamBog

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Location:
    London
    #15
    Not working in London.

    Would this outage contribute to a sudden decrease in battery life as it tries to find the network?

    I haven't any apps running but after 2 hours I've used 21%

    Before this week, it would be more like 5%
     
  15. OllyW Moderator

    OllyW

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Location:
    The Black Country, England
    #16
    Probably.

    My battery ran down really quickly recently when my iPhone had trouble connecting to one of my email servers. Your phone is probably using power constantly searching for the data network.
     
  16. rebecca.x macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    #17
    I'm not quite sure what to do with myself anymore when I'm out and about now that I have no access to Facebook on the go :(
     
  17. thefunkymunky macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #18
    Mine was down yesterday but seems OK this morning. Changing your APN from
    Code:
    idata.o2.co.uk
    to
    Code:
    mobile.o2.co.uk
    will give you access if you can't be bothered waiting for O2 to fix the problem. MMS will still be down though.
     
  18. The Phazer macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Location:
    London, UK
    #19
    Not had any issues today but yesterday was a total write off.

    Phazer
     
  19. ct2k7 macrumors 603

    ct2k7

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Location:
    London or Florida
    #20
    O2 informed me that using that APN may incur extra charges, becuase it's used on a standard non-iPhone tariff.
     
  20. PeckhamBog macrumors 6502

    PeckhamBog

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Location:
    London
    #21
    Working now in London.

    Will watch battery consumption to see if it was related. Currently 65%, about to take it out for a run (ipod, nike+ apps running for 60mins).
     
  21. rebecca.x macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    #22
    Thank you for that piece of information, I've swiftly changed the APN setting back to idata.
     
  22. DenniZ macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #23
    Doesn't matter, either works fine under your unlimited internet bundle. Internet was off yesterday in Liverpool, just recently came back.

    My MMS works, but comes under someone elses number :confused: :eek:
     
  23. thefunkymunky macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #24
    O2 said on Twitter yesterday that changing the APN will not incur extra charges.
     
  24. ct2k7 macrumors 603

    ct2k7

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Location:
    London or Florida
    #25
    Incorrect,

    @EvilGayTwin I wouldn't suggest changing your APN if your current one has worked in the past. You may be charged extra by doing this
    about 22 hours ago from Seesmic in reply to EvilGayTwin

    Spoke to iPhone team, they told me that I should not change the APN unless I want to see some data charges.
     

Share This Page