Ocerclock a stock x1600 with ATITool

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Jasonbot, Apr 12, 2007.

  1. Jasonbot macrumors 68020

    Jasonbot

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Rainbow Nation RSA
    #1
    I have ATITool .27 for windows vista and I'm slightly scared to use it but I know I need some sort of system speed increase for my Graphics card. The problem is that I don't know how to use the programme at all! I assume you must find the highest values with the "Find Max" tests and then set the speeds yourself. In the little dropdown box it says my default is 89.95/89.95 Arent iMacs supposed to be in excess of 400/400 or something? I also noticed that you can set the speeds up to 2000/2000:eek: I guess that is dangerous?

    I'm running an iMac Core2DUo 20" stock with Vista in Bootcamp.
     
  2. FF_productions macrumors 68030

    FF_productions

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Mt. Prospect, Illinois
    #2
    I've used it on my PowerMac and I knew my limits, the screen would start getting very glitchy, so I knew I had overclocked too far so I would set it back a little lower.

    I find no point in overclocking it, it's dangerous and doesn't give you that big of a boost. I'd be scared of doing that in a iMac because you can't swap out graphics cards like you would in a normal tower.
     
  3. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #3
    Use 0.25 Beta 14. The newer versions don't work.
     
  4. iW00t macrumors 68040

    iW00t

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Defenders of Apple Guild
    #4
    Good thing there is Applecare ;)
     
  5. Jasonbot thread starter macrumors 68020

    Jasonbot

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Rainbow Nation RSA
    #5
    Customer: My computer melted.
    Applecare Guy: Good thing you have apple care :p

    1 weeek later...

    Applecare Guy: We Diagnosed your mac, seems your graphics card melted due to a bad overclock.
    Customer: And...
    Applecare Guy: It's going to cost you some serious ca$h:D Have a nice day..
     
  6. Mr. MacBook macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    #6
    pizzowned.

    Lol, i wouldnt overclock.

    I was thinking the same thing...

    My friend overclocks his X1900 in the Mac Pro, no idea how. He just did it... was weird but he said he got like a 10% performance boost, and all it cost him was to put an extra fan behind his tower.

    X1600 i wouldn't try it. iMacs are really compact, and i think they use notebook processors...

    If that melts, your computer melts.
     
  7. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #7
    And they can tell you overclocked you video card how? I've been doing it pretty much everyday for months now. You learn the limits very quickly.
     
  8. GazzaMataz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    #8
    If you ATIAccelerator did work for the iMacs what sort of speed boost would be safe 5-10%

    I don't think I would go faster than that myself.

    What are the core and memory speeds of this GPU considering it is a mobile version it will differ to the PC card equivalent wouldn't it.
     

Share This Page