OCing in Vista

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by superspiffy, Apr 13, 2008.

  1. superspiffy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    #1
    Is there any OCing tool that works for Vista 32bit? Rivatuner and ATI Tool does not work for me.
     
  2. weemanpow3 macrumors 6502

    weemanpow3

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #2
    I to am looking to for overclocking software for Vista. ATItools just dosent work. RivaTuner just wont clock when I rise the settings. The only one that I found that works is nTune.
    http://www.nvidia.com/object/ntune_5.05.54.00.html
    The only problem is the settings dont save when you reboot the computer
     
  3. squeeks macrumors 68040

    squeeks

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #3
    hmm, you're using a computer with an Nvidia graphics card and you're wondering why ati tools dosent work?

    ya'll do know the card is intentionally under clocked from its stock speed so it dosent overheat right?
     
  4. TSE macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    St. Paul, Minnesota
    #4
    As long as they are using the MacBook Pro on a flat surface such as a desk, have good ventilation, and the room is fairly cold with maybe a fan blowing down through the MacBook Pro's keyboard with the MBP's fan all the way, there should be absolutely no problems.
     
  5. superspiffy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    #5
    somebody already mentioned this on another post about the same thing. but lots of people on this forum have claimed they're OCing their NVIDIA cards with ATI tool at or even above the stock speeds and it still works fine with no overheating.
     
  6. Santa Rosa macrumors 65816

    Santa Rosa

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Location:
    Indiana
    #6
    Macbook Pro gets hot enough as it is I wouldn't try and over-clock it unless you can afford to replace it and don't mind it getting fried if you make a mistake.
     
  7. superspiffy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    #7
    I replaced my "old" 2.33 merom MBP i bought less than a year ago for the new penryns, paying over a thousand dollars penalty after selling the first MBP well below its market value. so if I can afford that kinda loss, would you really think money is an issue for me? ;)
     
  8. TheScavenger macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    #8
    There just isn't a big enough difference in game frame rates to justify OCing a laptop.

    Josh
     
  9. superspiffy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    #9
    haven't a lot of people been able to push their 3dmarks well over 5000 after OCing?
     
  10. Santa Rosa macrumors 65816

    Santa Rosa

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Location:
    Indiana
    #10
    I just bought the SSD Macbook Air, I wouldn't OC no matter what, also just bought a genuine Omega Seamaster as well, you think money is a problem for me as well do you?
     
  11. squeeks macrumors 68040

    squeeks

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #11
    which is equal to 2-3 FPS...not a big deal
     
  12. e12a macrumors 68000

    e12a

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    #12
    don't forget that 1st and 2nd gen MBPs did use ATi.
     
  13. weemanpow3 macrumors 6502

    weemanpow3

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #13
    I use nTune and my speeds were 614-Clock and 854-Memory and that was the max I could get without Artifacting. I got almost 8 fps increase in Crysis. Not all games will be effected as much. I have fans blowing right on the hot spots of the MBP. Overclocking is a big deal for people who want the most out of your hardware, just beware you shorten the life span out of the hardware.
    Found this interesting reading
    http://forum.notebookreview.com/showthread.php?t=139270
     
  14. squeeks macrumors 68040

    squeeks

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #14
    yup, but the OP has a penryn
     
  15. superspiffy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    #15
    downloaded it but i cannot find the options to OC! there's no interface to which I can adjust clock speeds. can you be more detailed on how you this program to OC?
     
  16. The Flashing Fi macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    #16
    Doesn't matter. AtiTool can OC Nvidia video cards despite the name.

    http://www.techpowerup.com/atitool/

    ATiTool also offers a pretty nice feature to check for artifacts (basically to check to be sure that you didn't OC too high)

    superspiffy, don't overclock. It will compromise system stability and have the potential to fry your video card. The benefit will also be minimal and the amount you'll be able to overclock without being constrained by heat is not much. Overclocking laptops is never a good idea.
     
  17. yaddam205 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    #17
    Ignore him, just about post I read from this member is negative in some fashion. Ignorance is not an excuse.
     

Share This Page