OCZ 96gb SSD

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Fasailmac, Jun 14, 2010.

  1. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    Looks decent and OCZ is a good brand and their SSDs work fine with Macs
     
  2. TRUCRACKER macrumors 6502

    TRUCRACKER

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Location:
    VA
  3. robotmonkey macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    #5
    Usually 80 gb is 220, so it's a good deal.
     
  4. TRUCRACKER macrumors 6502

    TRUCRACKER

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Location:
    VA
    #6
    I just don't see how you could manage with such little space.
     
  5. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #7
    Optibay? External HD? It's not that hard, just keep OS X and apps in SSD and others in other HD
     
  6. TRUCRACKER macrumors 6502

    TRUCRACKER

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Location:
    VA
    #8
    So then what's the point of having an SSD if you have to waste time and money buying an external HDD and managing everything?
     
  7. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #9
    SPEED! SSDs are like million times faster than regular HDs. Everything will be so responsive and quick. HD is the biggest bottleneck in todays computers.
     
  8. TRUCRACKER macrumors 6502

    TRUCRACKER

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Location:
    VA
    #10
    Oh ok that's what I thought. Well IMO, not worth the sacrifice.
     
  9. robotmonkey macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    #11
    I have often wondered if there was a way to fit an hd and an ssd in one computer. A small ssd for osx, applications, and large files, and an hd for smaller files. That would be great.
     
  10. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #12
  11. robotmonkey macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    #13
  12. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #14
    Yeah. You can put it in external enclosure and use it via USB when you need it
     
  13. robotmonkey macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    #15
    I know but I want everything to fit in my 13 inch... I am big about portability. That's why I would never get a macbook air or an ipad.
     

Share This Page