OCZ Agility 3

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Dwalls90, Dec 14, 2012.

  1. Dwalls90 macrumors 601

    Dwalls90

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    #1
    I have a 2011 MBP.

    Do I need to update the firmware on the drive when it arrives, or is it good to go?
     
  2. robvas macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    The one I ordered was on the latest version but it never hurts to check.
     
  3. Dwalls90 thread starter macrumors 601

    Dwalls90

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    #3
    Okay so as long as the firmware is up to date with that on OCZ's website, there is no further action required to ensure compatibility/max performance?

    While on the topic, is TRIM enabled by default?
     
  4. Orlandoech macrumors 68040

    Orlandoech

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #4
    Correct.



    No its not. You will need to download and enable TRIM via TrimEnabler.


    For more SSD Tweaking and such, see my thread. http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1505922
     
  5. Dwalls90 thread starter macrumors 601

    Dwalls90

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    #5
  6. robvas macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    It's not as important with a Sandforce drive because they do their own garbage collection, independent of the OS. TRIM is basically the OS telling the drive 'hey clean yourself up'.
     
  7. Dwalls90 thread starter macrumors 601

    Dwalls90

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    #7
    I did catch on to this.

    But it's not "bad" by having it enabled on the OS X side, right?
     
  8. Orlandoech macrumors 68040

    Orlandoech

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #8
    No its not, you cant still enable TRIM.
     
  9. Dwalls90 thread starter macrumors 601

    Dwalls90

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    #9
    Wait, what?

    Did you mean "can"? Because you just told me to download TRIM enabler, even though the SSD has that build-in trim like functionality.
     
  10. Orlandoech macrumors 68040

    Orlandoech

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #10
    You dont NEED to enable TRIM with a SandForce based SSD, but you CAN. It wont hurt. I would still do it, if it were me.
     
  11. Dwalls90 thread starter macrumors 601

    Dwalls90

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    #11
    Ok that's what I thought based on above thanks!
     

Share This Page