OCZ Vertex 3/Intel 510/Other SSD

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by JamDonut, Jun 3, 2011.

?

Which SSD Do You Use/Recommend

  1. OCZ Vertex 3

    39 vote(s)
    61.9%
  2. Intel 510

    8 vote(s)
    12.7%
  3. Other (i.e. Crucial)

    16 vote(s)
    25.4%
  1. JamDonut macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Location:
    England, UK
    #1
    Hi All,

    so i wanted to put together a little poll to see who is buying what SSDs for their MBP, for both people trying to decide to see, but also to try and bring the threads together somewhat, i must see at least 5 threads a week discussing SSD and the main two i seem to hear most of are the OCZ Vertex 3 and Intel 510, with little about others,

    once you have voted, if you have another preference i.e. Crucial SSD, please feel free to post about it! i must admit, i'm torn between the vertex 3 and 510 myself!

    :D
     
  2. altecXP macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    #2
    I have used OWC SATA2 and am using Crucial SATA3. I have loved them both.
     
  3. eUnique macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    #3
    FWIW from what I've gathered Vertex 3 is slightly faster, but slightly less reliable than the Intel 510. It seems like a wash, but I have no exp with either so obvious take it with a grain of salt. And I will eventually be getting a intel 510 for my 2011 MBP.
     
  4. Peteman100 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Location:
    Berkeley, CA
    #4
    For reliability, I'd say the Intel 320. The 510 used a Marvell controller. For speed, I'd say the OWC 6G or Vertex 3.
     
  5. johnnyturbouk macrumors 68000

    johnnyturbouk

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Location:
    on the yellow [oled] brick road to tech nirvana.
    #5
    intel 510 more reliable than a vertex 3? :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

    i think intel reliability pertains to the x25 and 320 somewhat

    the 510 had a catalogue of incompatibilities with the MBP sata3 port
    the 320 is a 2yr old controller with 25x NAND flash

    id prefer a v3 max iops or corsair force 3
     
  6. JamDonut thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Location:
    England, UK
    #6
    naive as it sounds, could you elaborate? never heard of this
     
  7. hakuryuu macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    Lomita, CA
    #7
    I'm using an Intel 510 in my 17 inch mbp and it works perfectly. No issues whatsoever.
     
  8. Peteman100 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Location:
    Berkeley, CA
    #8
    Intel normally designs their own controllers, like on the X25 series. However, they dropped the ball with SATA 6G compatibility. To stay competitive, they released the 510 with the same Marvell controller that Micron uses in the C300/C400. Supposedly Intel customized the firmware a bit, but it still won't be as reliable as the Intel 320 or X25-M.

    I would still bet that the 510 will prove to be more reliable than the Vertex 3, although the Vertex is faster.
     
  9. JamDonut thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Location:
    England, UK
    #9
    Bit cheeky of them really! considering intel is a reliable brand name! but hey-ho it's a dog-eat-dog business world out there, guess they gotta stay competitive, thanks for the info though :)
     
  10. Peteman100 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Location:
    Berkeley, CA
    #10
    Of course :)
     
  11. basesloaded190 macrumors 68030

    basesloaded190

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #11
    I think it's a common them to hear for speed: Go OWC or OCZ. For reliability: Intel. That's very vague and open ended, but a fair judgment I believe
     
  12. JephJ macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    #12
    Pretty limited poll tbh, I would have added a couple more on there to show the results rather than read through all the posts to determine what the people in the "other" category use/recommend instead.
     
  13. JamDonut thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Location:
    England, UK
    #13
    soryy the battle just seemed aimed mostly at these two, that's why i wanted to try and spark a discussion in the thread too :)
     
  14. cinek macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    #14
  15. daneoni, Jun 4, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2011

    daneoni macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #15
    Vertex 3 but you need Windows and a spare AHCI SATA port if you plan to keep up with firmware updates released for the drive.
     
  16. JR1993 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    #16
    why?
     
  17. daneoni macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #17
    I should rephrase; If you plan to do firmware upgrades (not maintenance in general) to the drive, then you need a Windows PC with a spare AHCI SATA port because Sandforce only have an update utility for Windows (or Linux if you have 2010 or earlier hardware)
     
  18. JR1993 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    #18
    what if you have windows insalled on bootcamp? also, would you be able to attach the SSD through usb to a windows laptop?
     
  19. daneoni, Jun 4, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2011

    daneoni macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #19
    Some say bootcamp partition works others say it doesn't (i didn't test it). But the update utility generally insists you to run the update from a volume that isn't the SSD itself. You must have a SATA port...won't work over USB as far as i know.
     
  20. JR1993 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    #20
    Ok. Do you know if the same applies to the Corsair Force Series 3??? (sorry for all the questions, as you may tell, im quite new to this)
     
  21. daneoni macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #21
    Also a Sandforce drive...same story.
     
  22. JR1993 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    #22
    Ok thanks.

    Final question (I promise!):
    Is there a need to upgrade the firmware?
     
  23. daneoni macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #23
    Some would argue no, others would argue yes. The drive is likely to work just fine without any updates. Then again it's also possible you could run into an issue that was already fixed in a firmware update
     
  24. JR1993 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    #24
    Ok I understand now. Thank you.

    No more questions Sir ;)
     
  25. daneoni macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #25
    ^
    Im no Sir, and don't mind the questions at all. :)
     

Share This Page