OCZ Vertex 4 SSD not showing up?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by basketball762, Jun 6, 2013.

  1. basketball762 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    #1
    Hi MacRumors! I have a quick question that you might be able to assist me with. I have a MacBook Pro 13 Inch Early 2011. I recently moved my HD that came with my computer to my optical bay and purchased a OCZ Vertex 4 SSD to put in the HD Bay. I placed the OCZ Vertex 4 SSD into an external USB HD holder and it was recognized properly. I then installed 10.8 on the SSD via external USB and booted up fine. After moving some files and setting everything up, I installed the SSD into my actual computer where my old HD was installed. I then booted up only to find when I held down option key on startup that the SSD wasn't showing up. I booted up to my optical drive (where my old HD is) and, opened up disk utility to only see that the SSD is not showing up anywhere. I opened up my macbook again, and made sure everything was properly connected, which everything is. Why is my SSD showing up via an external HD holder but not when it is placed inside my actual computer? What can I do to fix this issue? Thanks for any help, I truly appreciate it!
     
  2. CaptHenryMorgan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013
    Location:
    The District
    #2
    Might be a SATA III drive in a SATA II bay problem. I have the same problem on my 2011. I just put it into the optical bay.
     
  3. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #3
    Shouldn't the drive be backwards compatible?
     
  4. basketball762 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    #4
    That's what I'm thinking. I'm fairly certain my external HD drive (cheap one from
    Amazon) I put my SSD in and my computer recognizes is not SATA III, but yet it still gets reconginzed.
     
  5. CaptHenryMorgan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013
    Location:
    The District
    #5
    You'd think, but I've heard of this in other threads and forums and have experienced it myself. Drive works fine in an enclosure (TB, FW, USB) and in the optical bay, but for some bizarro reason doesn't work in the main bay.
     
  6. basketball762 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    #6
    But I thought I read somewhere on here that the optical bay does not support 6 GB/s which the OCZ Vertex 4 does which means it is slower than putting it in the regular HD spot.
     
  7. basketball762 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    #7
    I just used your suggestion and I placed my SSD into the optical bay and placed the original HD back into the HD bay. When I turned on the computer, the SSD was now being recognized in the optical bay but the original HD was not. I believe this means that my Hard Drive Cable is broken, is this correct thinking? Thanks again for all of the help!
     
  8. duervo macrumors 68000

    duervo

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2011
    #8
    Yep. Your cable is broken. Could be worse. Of all the things to break, it's one of the cheapest things to replace.
     
  9. CaptHenryMorgan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013
    Location:
    The District
    #9
    Hmm, seems like it. Maybe I have a different problem because some drives work in my main bay, but they all work in my optical bay.
     
  10. basketball762 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    #10
    So I have purchased a new hard drive cable and I just recovered it today and installed it. Though after doing all of this, I turned on my computer to find that my computer still does not recognize the SSD! I have no clue what the problem is now. Any suggestions?
     
  11. basketball762 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    #11
    Could this possibly be an issue with my motherboard, and not be connected right? I have no clue right now what could be wrong. Thanks again for any help!
     

Share This Page