OCZ Vertex SSD in Mac Mini

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by ag55, Aug 2, 2009.

  1. MacMini2009 macrumors 68000

    MacMini2009

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Location:
    California
    #2
    I don't think you have to buy the Mac edition. Just get the cheaper one and format the drive yourself.
     
  2. 300D macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa
  3. dyn macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Location:
    .nl
    #4
    Tad bit late but...OCZ themself have stated that the only thing that differs between the two drives is the sticker on them. They are exactly the same and will run very nice in a Mac mini. Lot's of people have done so and I'm one of them. Running a regular (aka non-Mac branded) OCZ Vertex 250 GB without any problems in my Mac mini 2009 (which has the 2 GHz cpu but I upped the RAM to 4 GB). Really makes a difference when running vm's and other software.
     
  4. Maxime macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Location:
    Montréal
    #5
  5. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #6
    Mac version is just formatted to HFS+ already. There are a lot "scams" around where resellers sells Mac versions with higher price tag. Normal version works as well as Mac version does, it just has to be formatted to HFS+ first (I think OS X does it automatically when you start installation.
     
  6. iLog.Genius macrumors 601

    iLog.Genius

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #7
    Agreed. There seems to be a lot of users out there that think there is Apple RAM and Apple HDD. I had a woman call in who purchased an external HDD of someone else and tried to use it on her Mac. We couldn't get it to work (HDD was defective) and she started yelling at me and telling me why Mac has to be complicated with it's different hardware not being compatible. It's really hard telling someone who doesn't know much about computers that it doesn't matter if a HDD doesn't say Mac compatible - a HDD is a HDD that will work with any system.
     
  7. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #8
    Same thing happened to me when I was working in computer shop (starting again in autumn). People who were thinking of a Mac all asked all the time "Is my camera compatible with Mac?" "Do I need to buy Apple router to get wireless network?" etc.... Sometimes I got really frustrated because they asked dozens of compatibility questions. Simplest answer is: Apple doesn't make their computers, they don't have special "Apple hardware".
     

Share This Page