ODD Ports Not Seen in Boot Camp

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by NOTNlCE, Jul 15, 2014.

  1. NOTNlCE macrumors 6502a

    NOTNlCE

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Location:
    DMV Area
    #1
    So, this is clearly a Boot Camp question, but since it is particular to the Mac Pro, I figured I would ask it here.

    About a week or two ago, I migrated my Boot Camp hard drive to a 1TB WD Black from its original 320GB Hard Drive that shipped with my 3,1. WinClone did a great job moving all my files, but now, I'm missing a drive. I have a 2.5" hard drive where my games are stored attached to one of the ODD SATA ports. Now, initially I thought the drive might have died, but it's visible under OS X. Would WinClone have broken my AHCI mod? That's about the only thing I can think of at the moment. I am running Windows 8.1 Pro under BootCamp, if that helps.

    Anyone have experience with this? As always, thanks for your input.
    -N
     
  2. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #2
    It sounds like a UUID issue to me. i would power off, disconnect the drives from the ODD and power cables. Then boot into windows, get any updates and check the boot drive for errors (repair as needed). Then power all the way down, re-connect the ODD and power cables. Then reboot Windows and hopefully the drives will be detected and mountable.

    Just something to try. I don't really use windows anymore and haven't for years (although I do have every version, installed in VM's now for that once in a great while need). I have had similar issues in older versions of windows.

    Even if I was of no help, at least this bumped your thread back to the top. :)
     
  3. NOTNlCE thread starter macrumors 6502a

    NOTNlCE

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Location:
    DMV Area
    #3
    Thanks, I will give it a shot. There is nothing physically wrong with the drive, both the BootCamp HDD and the ODD HDD are perfectly fine. I ran a full scan on both disks last night. I'm sure it's probably just the AHCI mod being overwritten in the migration. I'll give that a shot once again when I get some free time.
     
  4. crjackson2134, Jul 17, 2014
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2014

    crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #4
    Yeah I got that, but some times when you scan your boot drive and then install (in this case reconnect) a new drive, it will kick start windows to scan for new devices and reset the UUID. Now I don't have too much experience with Win 8+ so it's just trowing a dart at the problem, but who knows.

    If it doesn't help, at least we're keeping the topic active until someone who actually has had this problem also can chime in.

    EDIT: Well, after researching the subject a little more, I'm inclined to agree with you that it is indeed an AHCI issue. From what I've been reading, there are specific steps needed to achieve full AHCI recognition with Windows. You have probably already sorted this out by now, but if not, there are threads here on MR that discuss the issue. Since you referred to a MOD I'm sure you are already aware of that.
     
  5. monkeybagel macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    United States
    #5
    I have a similar issue using Boot Camp for Windows 7 recognizing the last two HDD bays as SATA disks. It uses them as legacy IDE even with the patch. Windows 8 installed using EFI finds everything correctly, but I don't care for Windows 8.
     
  6. ghislain macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    #6
    You might try this. Open configuration panel in windows 8, administration tools and drive management. Look for your drive. May be no drive letter was assigned to it, so it is not visible. If it were the case, just assign a letter to this disk...et voilà...Now your drive should be visible under Windows..Cheers
     
  7. NOTNlCE thread starter macrumors 6502a

    NOTNlCE

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Location:
    DMV Area
    #7
    Yeah, that was one of the first things I did. The drive isn't even SEEN by Windows. Another reason to assume the AHCI mod has been broken. Still haven't gotten time to redo that.... Hopefully today or tomorrow. Thanks again, all.
     
  8. NOTNlCE thread starter macrumors 6502a

    NOTNlCE

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Location:
    DMV Area
    #8
    Redid the AHCI mod on my BootCamp drive, and now it won't boot. Disk is fine, according to TechTool. I've attempted to undo the MBR patch, and it seems to be taking, but the disk won't boot up normally or in Fusion. It just says, "Disk Read Error, Press Ctrl-Alt-Delete to reboot."
     

Share This Page