Odd question, copying music to a USB drive

Discussion in 'iMac' started by KJChevy3, Aug 20, 2008.

1. KJChevy3 macrumors newbie

I imported some CD's to iTunes, copied them fom My Music to a USB drive than plugs into the head unit in my car. On some (not all) there are an equal number of tracks following the actual songs (i.e. 1-12 play fine, 13-24 show as unsupported format) that seem to be "extra". when I plug the USB nto the iMac and look at the folders I don't see anything other than the actual tracks in .m4a, which sho as AAC on my head unit. Any idea what these are and how I can et rid of them?

2. swiftaw macrumors 603

swiftaw

What you should do is use terminal to see all the files on your USB drive. Chances are the extra files are hidden in finder.

3. KJChevy3 thread starter macrumors newbie

OK, I'm new to the mac, just got the iMac a week ago, how do I view hidden files like these?

4. swiftaw macrumors 603

swiftaw

5. KJChevy3 thread starter macrumors newbie

Great, thanks for the quick help, I'll give it a try tonight.

6. macdot macrumors 6502

7. KJChevy3 thread starter macrumors newbie

I talked to the help line and they had me go through Finder to view all invisible files on the USB drive - didn't see any, so I still have these "unsupported format" files when I have the drive hooked up in the car.

8. swiftaw macrumors 603

swiftaw

Finder cannot see hidden files by default. Use the link I posted a few posts above to use terminal to turn on hidden file viewing in finder.

9. KJChevy3 thread starter macrumors newbie

OK, tried that, still don't see anything other than the tracks, but the headunit in the car still shows Unsupported format files.

10. Tosser macrumors 68030

Could it be "cover art" it's interpreting as "tracks"?

11. Babooshka macrumors 6502

Babooshka

Use Disk Utility and format the USB drive then put the music on it again?

12. KJChevy3 thread starter macrumors newbie