Odd Siri issue with Hue/Homekit

Discussion in 'Apple Watch' started by BarryDuffman, Feb 27, 2019.

  1. BarryDuffman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    #1
    Hi,

    My watch has developed an odd issue with Siri when controlling my Hue lights

    When I ask Siri to control my Hue lights, the command is carried out just fine, but Siri then returns Sorry something went wrong, please try again.
    But nothing went wrong, the command was executed.

    It only happens on the Watch. When using Siri on the phone the error does not show.

    Also it does not happen when using other Siri commands on the watch (e.g. setting alarms, timers or getting directions)

    I don't know if it is Hue or Homekit specific, as I only have Hue lights added to Homekit, so cannot test other HomeKit stuff.

    Has anybody experienced similar issues, and know how to fix it?

    What I have tried so far without luck is:
    - Turning Siri off/on on watch
    - Restarting watch and phone
    - Restarting Hue Bridge
    - Restarting Wifi routers
    - Unpair watch and pair it again.
     
  2. BarryDuffman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    #2
    Discovered that there were updates to the Hue bridge. I updated hoping this would fix it, but unfortunately not.
    Problem persist. :(
     
  3. CobraPA macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Location:
    Lansdale, PA, USA
    #3
    I have seen this a couple times, but not consistently. Does it always do it for you? I see some Siri oddness every now and then (also have a Hue bridge and a few lights.). But it normally goes away.

    I did have a case of Siri not being able to do anything from the Watch, but a power cycle of the watch resolved that (which surprised me!)
     
  4. waw74 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    #4
    Just a thought
    do you have an appleTV running as a hub?
    have you tried rebooting those too?
    or maybe signing out of iCloud on them and back in.
     
  5. BarryDuffman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    #5
    It happens all the time. Very consistently. Odd thing is that it works just fine. But would like to get rid of the annoying error message back.

    Good points.
    I actually remembered to reboot the ATV yesterday, by cycling the power to it. Just forgot to mention it here :)
    But will definitely try to signing out/in of iCloud. Thanks.
     
  6. Der Keyser macrumors regular

    Der Keyser

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2016
    #6
    Yeah, mine developed the same problem af few days back. I think the issue is on Apple’s side. hopefully they will fix it.
     
  7. CobraPA macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Location:
    Lansdale, PA, USA
    #7
    Do you have multiple wifi routers? I believe the status comes back from the Hue hub to your phone, so if there is some issue with your phone not being on the same subnet as your Hue hub, you might see this. (I guess, by extension, that the status then has to come from phone to watch, so if there was intermittent connection between them you might have the same problem. When you see the error and look at the watch connection status, what do you see?)
     
  8. BarryDuffman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    #8
    Logging out/in on iCloud on my devices didn't help either :(

    I think (or more hope) that this is the case, after I also found this thread on reddit, with similar issues creeping up in the past few days:
    https://www.reddit.com/r/HomeKit/comments/avore3/siri_works_on_the_watch_while_saying_that_theres/

    I only have one router, where everything connects, so everything is on the same subnet. It doesn't matter if the watch is directly connected to wifi, or only connected to the phone via bluetooth. Error persists. And connection isn't broken when the error is returned.
    Which is even more strange while connected to the phone only, since the error doesn't show up while using Siri on the phone.

     
  9. BarryDuffman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    #9
    well. Since yesterday the error reply has automagically disappeared. So it seems Apple has fixed something.
     

Share This Page

8 February 27, 2019