Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

dkeninitz

macrumors regular
Original poster
Feb 16, 2003
Germantown, MD
I've been running Win 7 on my Mac Pro for six or seven months; started with the Beta, then the RC, and now have the RTM. I've got 10gb of RAM, and a separate dedicated internal drive for the Win 7 installation. I've only allocated 2gb of the RAM to Windows, and 1 processor core. Still, it's snappier than SL on some things, especially web browsing. I have no idea why, but Firefox under Win 7 seems to open most pages way faster than either Safari or Firefox under SL.

It also seems to handle processing of large Excel files faster (although I realize that's likely due to the different versions of Office I'm using: Office 2007 for Windows, Office 2008 for Mac).

At this rate I'll be slowly converting my Mac Pro to a Windows machine. :)

QuarterSwede

macrumors G3
Oct 1, 2005
Colorado Springs, CO
7 is definitely the first good version of Windows in my opinion. It still has a few very large flaws. 1) Registery and 2) DLL's. Both make Windows HELL to use eventually.

irishgrizzly

macrumors 65816
May 15, 2006
Yeah, I've only had windows 7 for about 6 hours now, but I'm finding the ff is quicker on the windows side. Then again on the mac side, Safari is much quicker for me then ff, so I'm thinking it's the fault of poor ff coding rather then bad SL performance.

– edit –

Good news for the mac camp after these tests by CNET;

Time-based_610x374.jpg

njean777

macrumors 6502
Oct 17, 2009
Yeah, I've only had windows 7 for about 6 hours now, but I'm finding the ff is quicker on the windows side. Then again on the mac side, Safari is much quicker for me then ff, so I'm thinking it's the fault of poor ff coding rather then bad SL performance.

– edit –

Time-based_610x374.jpg

you should def. not use fire fox. Use chrome much better and faster. Its made by google so its not a crappy browser.