Offical fix for the wifi issues

Discussion in 'iPad' started by ChrisGonzales90, Jun 16, 2010.

  1. ChrisGonzales90 macrumors 6502a

    ChrisGonzales90

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Location:
    Hillsboro, Oregon USA.
    #1
    So I received my iPad today experienceing those wifi issues and I did a search on apples support site and found nothing.

    Has there been an official fix?
     
  2. iPadztr macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Location:
    Pluto avenue
    #2
    Nothing as of yet... And no one knows when we gonna have an update...
     
  3. ItsThatKush macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Location:
    West Palm Beach, FL
    #3
    Sorry but can someone explain this wifi issue? My iPad works beautifully.
     
  4. ChrisGonzales90 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ChrisGonzales90

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Location:
    Hillsboro, Oregon USA.
    #4
    Wifi keeps knocking people off. Getting really frustrating. I mean the iPad has the latest 802.11n correct? What could be the problem?

    And yes I have a great router. Fiber optic one from verizion.
     
  5. Ronix macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    #5
    Brightness is Key

    Chris make sure your brightness is not all the way down. This solved all my issues and before I would be kicked off every time it went to sleep and roughly 10 times an hour. Have not had a problem since adjusting brightness.
     
  6. chrono1081 macrumors 604

    chrono1081

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Isla Nublar
    #6
    Thats the problem right there. Verizon routers are TERRIBLE. Trust me I used to work for them.

    Whether it be the westells, or the actiontec gateways, or whatever router Verizons routers and modems have always had issues with connecting external devices wether it be XBox 360's, Wii's PSPs etc.
     
  7. ChrisGonzales90 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ChrisGonzales90

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Location:
    Hillsboro, Oregon USA.
    #7
    What do you recommend setting it at? I have it at 50%
    yeah I know it's crappy. Costco has a nice one now its a belkin and has 802.11n for $69 but can't afford it given I'm unemployed at the moment and money needs to go to weekly groceries and unexpected funds.

    And before anyone says anything. The iPad was a gift from someone. I didn't buy it ;)
     
  8. caubeck macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    #8
    No wifi problems, but it's odd how the wifi connection symbol flickers on and off with airport express at home (and nowhere else).
     
  9. ChrisGonzales90 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ChrisGonzales90

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Location:
    Hillsboro, Oregon USA.
    #9
    I just don't understand why it's taking apple a while for the fix unless it's a hard core issue
     
  10. beavo451 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    #10
    Mine used to drop out every time I locked it. I adjusted the screen brightness and it dropped-out less. I updated my router firmware and changed the wireless security and so far, it seems to be working much better.

    The most "fix" Apple has released so far... iPad: Issues connecting to Wi-Fi networks
     
  11. Shoesy macrumors 6502a

    Shoesy

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Location:
    Colchester, UK.
    #11
    Shirley not. Can this really be true? Maybe it's the light waves getting in the way of the wi-fi waves or something. There - just convinced myself. Move along.
     
  12. paulisme macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Location:
    Charleston, SC
    #12
    I find it helps to blow on it like a Nintendo cartridge.
     
  13. BrennerM macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Location:
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    #13
    My wifi has been working perfectly since I got the iPad a couple weeks ago. Suddenly today every time I woke it up it had no connection. I tried a cold restart and still had the problem.

    Suddenly I realized that I was reading in bed last night with the brightness all the way down. As soon as I moved the brightness up a tiny notch, my connection was back and my wifi is perfect again.

    So for those who doubt the brightness is a factor for wifi, I'm here to tell you that it can make a difference. Why does it make a difference? I have no clue!
     
  14. ChrisGonzales90 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ChrisGonzales90

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Location:
    Hillsboro, Oregon USA.
    #14
    Same here at times. I don't get why the screen could cause the problem. When is first heard of this and apple said adjust your screen brightness I laughed. I guess apple should be laughing at me now.

    Thanks for the link
     
  15. richpjr macrumors 68030

    richpjr

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    #15
    My wifi works flawlessly. At home, but boy it's hit or miss everywhere else even with brightness not on minimum.
     
  16. gatearray macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    #16
    I have a guess about the screen brightness thing: power.

    What if a low screen brightness is affecting the overall power distribution to the iPad, and when it's dialed in low, it's rippling throughout the entire device and it's just enough to choke the WiFi receiver and cause it to lose connection? Like a dimmer switch on a lightbulb that's not quite right.
     
  17. skubish macrumors 68030

    skubish

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
    #17
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_1_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile/7E18 Safari/528.16)

    Verizon is the problem. Get a Linksys.
     
  18. Figbash Acrobat macrumors 6502a

    Figbash Acrobat

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Location:
    Alphaville
    #18
    +1
    I had trouble with the AE so i got a Linksys E3000 and it works MUCH better with the iPad. Odd, I know. But I get a more stable connection and better speeds.
     
  19. Neezer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    #19
    Verizon routers are crap. I've added an AE, but I still have drops and automatic reconnects. Usually drops and reconnects twice in rapid succession, all with no input required by me. Kinda frustrating but I'm hoping for some kind of remedy.

    +1 on the brightness adjustment. It does work, but it's not a cure-all. I still have issues. It's just weird. Mine works better at friends/family houses than my own. Still loving it though.
     
  20. ChrisGonzales90 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ChrisGonzales90

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Location:
    Hillsboro, Oregon USA.
    #20
    I just checked and it looks like westel makes the router.
     
  21. gdeputy macrumors 6502a

    gdeputy

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #21
    I had problems for 2-3 days, then I reset my router to factory settings and it's worked flawlessly ever since.

    Youtube also used to be slow for me now it's fast as lightning.
     
  22. Figbash Acrobat macrumors 6502a

    Figbash Acrobat

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Location:
    Alphaville
    #22
    So is this without any encryption then?
     
  23. ChrisGonzales90 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ChrisGonzales90

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Location:
    Hillsboro, Oregon USA.
    #23
    I forgot to mention we have a black cable with the medal prong (like the cable you find on your tv) given we have fiber optic.

    If we were to get another router I may just go with clear. We have good reviews in our area for clear.
     
  24. jtara macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    #24
    The brightness thing is bizarre, but there it is in the tech note...

    One thing that may help is to assign a static DHCP Reservation for your iPad on your router. I know one of the WiFi-related issues is that iPad currently doesn't release it's IP address when it's reservation expires. This ultimately leads to collisions when the IP address is re-assigned to another device.

    All of my computers and mobile devices have static reservations on my router. My iPad always has the same IP address when it is on my network. I only use a DHCP pool for guests.

    Unfortunately, how to do this is different for each router. You will need to know your iPad's MAC address, and you will have to set-aside some IP address space for static reservations.
     
  25. KINetics macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #25
    I was having trouble with wifi reconnecting after the iPad went to sleep. Saw this post today and checked my brightness settings. It was at the lowest.

    I moved it up a few notches and lo and behold, no more wifi reconnect issues.

    How strange.
     

Share This Page