Office 04/08

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by iDmitry, Jan 2, 2008.

1. iDmitry macrumors member

iDmitry

So they say that if you buy office 04 before january 14th, you only have to pay S&H charges of liek 7 or 8 bucks and when the new office 08 comes out it will be shipped to you at no additional cost. That sounds like a great deal, sounds a little like it's too good to be true. Anyone has anything to say about this, because I am planning on doing that. Also, who prefers :apple:iWork:apple: over Office?

2. dazed macrumors 6502a

Sounded like a no brainer to me. I sent off my form before xmas so hopefully its got there already :)

The hardest part was deciding which version to get (student teacher or the media one). i chose student/teacher since id like 3 licenses more than a few webby things.

I'm new to mac and never tried iwork. guess im too set in my ms office ways.

And it doesnt sound too good to be true, it sounds like MS trying to get rid of a lot of unshipped office 2004 boxes before they have to dump them in a land fill.

3. aneftp macrumors 68040

Not worth sending in the rebate. You are better off waiting for the official release of Office 2k8 in a couple of weeks.

Main reason is waiting forever for the fulfillment CD/DVD to arrive. The prices between 2k4 and 2k8 are about the same. Especially if you have 2k4 on an intel mac. 2k4 runs very slow on intel macs. 2k8 will be optimized for intel mac. So it's pointless having 2k4.

I bought a Gateway laptop with Windows XP SP2 last January (just 3 weeks before the official Vista release). I was also promised a Vista upgrade DVD. Guess how long you have to wait....well I waited until the beginning of May 2007 for my upgrade DVD to arrive. Vista was released at the end of Jan. 2007.

So since Office 2k8 supposedly runs much faster on intel macs, it's worth your time to wait for the official release rather than have to wait 3-4 months for your upgrade DVD to come in via mail.