Office 08 or iWork 08?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Mad Mac Maniac, Jan 6, 2008.

1. Mad Mac Maniac macrumors 601

Mad Mac Maniac

A little bit of here and a little bit of there.
    Ok, so I'm sure that the differences have been discussed between these two things a lot but I have a couple of specific questions regarding the differences.

1) What is the price difference? I am a college student so I would probably be able to buy them for fairly cheap at my university. Around how much would they be? and I heard something about getting office 04 then buying an upgrade to 08 for 10 bucks? So what exactly is the deal with that?

2) I will probably have to be transferring some documents from my mac to pc's back and forth. Which one would be better at doing this? Thanks!

2. gauchogolfer macrumors 603

gauchogolfer

If you're a student check with your school.

For ultimate compatibility go with Office, though iWork will almost certainly be good enough.

3. serega macrumors regular

4. TheMac19 macrumors regular

TheMac19

Better yet...

Save yourself the trouble, and go get NeoOffice. www.neooffice.org It's just like MS Office, but it's free, and can handle WAY more types of files. It even saves in MS format (.doc, .xls, .etc). I've been using it for years. MS Office just crashed too often for me - I'm a grad student and live and die through my writing. iWork is fun, but I just didn't find it to be easy enough with the type documents I often make - large ones with lots of endnotes, footnotes, or other nightmares like pictures. I am perpetually transferring documents back and forth with fools on PC's and it's never an issue. Plus, it makes outputting papers as PDF's quite easy - although that's a given thanks to the OSX's print process... NeoOffice is great and free - and I've been pushing it hard for about four years!

-t

5. CruzDude macrumors newbie

Went to iWork 06>08 from Office 2004

FYI.