Office 2004-Powerpoint problem

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by mach42006, Feb 28, 2008.

1. mach42006 macrumors member

I've run into a PowerPoint issue on my MBP running Leopard. As a student, I use powerpoint frequently, whether it's to fill in notes on slides supplied by my professors, or making my own presentations. When I'm typing, whether it's in Word or an IM or even a post here on these forums, I often use the 'Option + Delete' key combination to quickly delete entire words. When I use this combination in powerpoint (and only in powerpoint), the application freezes. I get the beach ball and have no choice but to force quit powerpoint, losing all of my work. I was working on a brief presentation tonight and had to reopen powerpoint 7 times, because without thinking about it, I naturally hit the combination to quickly delete a few words. I've posted this question a few months ago and didn't get any response. I finally got fed up with it tonight, and thought I would try again.

So does anybody know why 'Option + Delete' would cause ppt to lock up, and what I might be able to do about it? Or is it just one of the many Office bugs that I have to deal with? Hopefully I'll be upgrading soon and won't have to worry about it.

2. Glenny2lappies macrumors 6502

Interesting; the hang happens here when using <option>+backspace

I normally use <command>+backspace to delete the word to the left. Ditto <command>+Delete to delete to the right.

Don't rush for Office 2008. It's rubbish. I'm working late tonight to repair the damage it's done to a set of presentations. All I did was open a PowerPoint 2003 file using PowerPoint 2008 and it screwed up the fonts, deleted a bunch of images, breaks diagrams, resets most objects to 'resize to fit', and deletes the content of whole pages.

Microsoft; the wheel's still turning but the hamster's playing with his "really koowl animation effect" that's far more interesting than turning out a working product.