Office 2004 registration problem

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Philsy, Oct 29, 2007.

  1. Philsy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Location:
    South coast of England
    #1
    Hi, I've just bought a new Mac and used Firewire to copy the contents of my old one to it.

    My wife is now using my old Mac.

    The problem is, we now both have the same copy of Office 2004 and we are unable to run it at the same time.

    My wife has her own copy on her old Mac.

    Question is, how can I change the registration details for Office on one computer? I don't really want to have to reinstall Office because we'd lose all our preferences etc.

    Thanks

    Phil
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    Have you tried to reinstall Office?

    I'll have to ask around where Office stores its registration. I just hope it isn't in your user preferences. I'll try to find the specific file if it is.
     
  3. Philsy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Location:
    South coast of England
    #3
    Hi, reinstalling is a last resort because of the reason I gave. I still have the very old Mac with the user preferences. And, of course, I have the serial numbers - I'd like to be able to just re-enter those.

    Phil
     
  4. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #4
    What operating system are you running?

    In OS X the Office 2004/X folder in /Applications isn't relevant to user settings.
     
  5. Philsy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Location:
    South coast of England
    #5
    Leopard
     
  6. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #6
    Yeah, trashing the application folder isn't going to lose your settings.

    I did find something interesting in ~/Library/Preferences/Microsoft/Office Registration Cache 11
     
  7. Philsy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Location:
    South coast of England
    #7
    Yep, got that. Do you reckon that's the key?
     
  8. Philsy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Location:
    South coast of England
    #8
    Umm, just tried moving that and opening Word and it simply created a new file
     
  9. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #9
    I've trashed quite a few of my Office preference folders with no luck.

    Then again I have a volume license without a key.

    I guess Microsoft does store registration information within the application bundles somewhere.
     
  10. Philsy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Location:
    South coast of England
    #10
    Thanks for taking the time to look.

    It looks like I'll be dusting off the install discs!

    Cheers

    Phil
     
  11. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #11
    I have a few applications myself that store serial numbers in the application bundle instead of say ~/Library.

    It's not very OS X like behavior but there isn't a standard on how to handle it.
     
  12. killerrobot macrumors 68020

    killerrobot

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #12
    You need to find and delete (move to trash, and empty trash) both of these files.
    * ~/Library/Preferences/Microsoft/Microsoft Office Settings (11)
    * HD/Applications/Microsoft Office 2004/Office/OfficePID

    The OfficePID file is a hidden file so if you don't have a script or program running to show them, go into terminal and type:
    defaults write com.apple.finder AppleShowAllFiles TRUE (hit enter)
    killall finder (hit enter)

    To hide the files again, substitute FALSE for "TRUE".
    When you restart MS Office it will ask you for your serial number again.
     
  13. Philsy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Location:
    South coast of England
    #13
    OK, I ran the install disc, entered the correct serial number and then ran all the online updates (no combined update!). However, Word still said it was running on another machine.

    So I trashed the two files Killerrobot suggested, re-entered the serial number and, yes you guessed it, the problem is still there.

    What else can I do? :(

    Phil
     
  14. offwidafairies macrumors 6502a

    offwidafairies

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #14
    im having same prob with leopard and office 08
     
  15. killerrobot macrumors 68020

    killerrobot

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #15
    Just another idea but were you on the same network as your wife when you trashed the files? I'd get off of it and trash them, then trash your cache files - (perhaps using Applejack on a restart) and then open word again still off the network. Maybe that might do it.

    @offwidafairies
    Office 08? Is that out yet? Man I'm behind if it is... I'd try wiping the same files that I mentioned before and see if that works.
     
  16. offwidafairies macrumors 6502a

    offwidafairies

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #16
    i couldnt find those files :eek:
     

Share This Page