office 2008 excel driving me mad!

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by h2009, May 15, 2008.

  1. h2009 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    #1
    I dont know what wrong with this program, but every time i make a document and save it, it doesn't remember the formulas, instead it replaces every cell made with a formula with the output figure from the formula.

    Can anyone help me sort out this problem please.
     
  2. grooveattack macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    #2
    * taps his pipe and pushes hat up with the end*

    hmmm Microsoft eh? .............well theres your problem. That'll be $200 please.
     
  3. iSee macrumors 68040

    iSee

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    #3
    Are you saving the documents as a particular type?
     
  4. h2009 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    #4
    Im saving the document in the xlsx format.

    It also seems to convert £ sign into $, for no reason (when you save, close, open)
     
  5. h2009 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
  6. Gregg2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #6
    Wish I could help. I've had problems of my own with Excel 2004 (11.4.1) when Spaces is active. Data is not always entered, memory is not released, anything typed from changing column width to font size isn't always recognized.

    I recently turned Spaces off, and it seems that the problems have disappeared. Based on a quick read of other threads here, it seems that the problem has not been corrected in Office 2008 either. Is that correct? Based on the above, things might have gotten worse!

    Are further updates to 2004 expected now that 2008 is out? But, if they haven't fixed that problem in 2008, seems like the chances of a fix for 2004 are remote, eh?

    (I posted the above in another thread yesterday that turned up in a Search. I didn't notice that it was in a somewhat, ahem, inappropriate forum. This is where it "belongs".)
     
  7. ert3 macrumors 6502a

    ert3

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    #7
    You may want to change your default currency to said Euro format.
     
  8. markfc macrumors 6502a

    markfc

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Location:
    Prestatyn, Wales, UK
  9. h2009 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    #9
    how would i do that?
    i've looked for that option but can't find anything.
     

Share This Page