Office 2008 for Mac and Mac OS X Spaces

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by tlinford, May 17, 2009.

  1. tlinford macrumors regular

    tlinford

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    #1
    For some time now, I have been frustrated by a problem that has been getting increasing coverage on forums, compared to 5 months ago.

    There is a bug with Office 2008 and how is works (or rather doesn't work) with OS X Leopard. This is a handling problem with palettes, notebook tabs, being left behind on :( spaces as the user switches between.

    This weeks Apple OS X (10.5.7) update appears to have resolved this issue :eek:. With much JOY I can tell people this, as it has been a horrible issue, that trashes an other wise great application (Office 2008) and they way it was working with Spaces.

    Interested if anyone else could add anything.

    Thank you Apple, for fixing this.... :)
     
  2. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #2
    It's about time. People have always been complaining about this. I wonder if this problem is fixed for everyone?
     
  3. srl7741 macrumors 68020

    srl7741

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Location:
    In my world
    #3
    A Wish come true

    When I get home I will be testing it out. I hope your right and it's been fixed.
     
  4. Doctor Q Administrator

    Doctor Q

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #4
    That bug drove me crazy. Now maybe I can take off the straightjacket and go home from the asylum.
     
  5. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #5
    Time to add a poll in order to get an idea of whether it worked for everyone or not.
     
  6. illegallydead macrumors 6502a

    illegallydead

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Location:
    Colorado!!!
    #6
    Holy crap, you may just be right! In preliminary testing on my part, going absolutely nuts with spaces and clicking the hell out of the toolbar, I can say that Word is staying right where it should and that the toolbar is staying functional! Oh joy of joys! Knock M$ all you want, but Word is definitely best for taking notes with at school, IMO, so I can say that I am overjoyed that I can actually use it again (I completely gave up on it after a year of fighting it day after day)

    I have heard from forum member Nadyne and elsewhere that this was an issue more on Apple's side (though how much I believe that, and that it is not just shoddy M$ programming, is still up to debate), so maybe this Apple fix finally fixed things.

    Glad I hit this thread up, I was about to pass it up as yet another "some idiot is complaining about M$ Office without using the search" thread. Happily surprised! Thank you for noticing this! :D
     
  7. Gray-Wolf macrumors 68030

    Gray-Wolf

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Location:
    Pandora, Home Tree
    #7
    So far, its working perfectly. Very nice indeed. :D
     

Share This Page