Office 2008

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by ryans79, Aug 29, 2009.

  1. ryans79 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    #1
    Hey,

    I just installed SL after a clean install, then have installed Office 2008 as well as little snitch, when checking for updates for Office, little snitch reports that its downloading from download.Microsoft.com.nsatc.net as well as g.www.ms.akadns.net

    never heard of those, usually I used to see it always go to microsoft.com when i was on a windows machine... is this ok? i dont have an AV (was told i dont need one on the Mac) and dont know how to check for malware...

    Dont know if i'm just being paranoid... a little help and advise please.

    Thanks!
     
  2. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #2
    That's normal. I believe Apple uses akadns.net for serving updates as well.
     
  3. ryans79 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    #3
    Thank you!

    Can you recommend anyway to check for malware just in case?
     
  4. dandaman2 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    #4
    I recommend you check for malware once in a while anyway. I don't think the Mac's quite at the point where it is important to run AV all the time, but it's a good idea to do a healthy scan once a month or so. I use iAntiVirus, but I'm not sure if I can recommend it. It automatically adds itself to launch at login every time I run it, and because I don't have it tracking my every move, that is just annoying. The MacCast had a segment on a recent show on anti-virus software.
     
  5. ryans79 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    #5
    Thanks! sounds annoying :(

    A little googling turned up ClamAV, any input on that?
     
  6. RandomKamikaze macrumors 6502a

    RandomKamikaze

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    Honestly I haven't worried about malware since getting my Mac.

    Any malware will require your password to install. Only type in your password when you are trying to install something.
     
  7. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #7
    ... from a developer you trust.
     
  8. ryans79 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    #8
    Thats the problem, i install a lot of software... that i cant afford :rolleyes:, so is there anyway to do a complete scan for malware?

    in windows there used to also be an option to do an online scan(housecall), any such thing for the mac?
     

Share This Page