Office 2010 on parallels desktop?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by iClive, Jul 19, 2012.

  1. iClive macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Have Parallels Desktop on MacBook air running 32bit Windows 7.

    Installation was a breeze and Windows VM works seamlessly.

    The main reason for putting this on the Mac (the shame I know!) is because I have lots of documents in Publisher format which are not supported by any Mac programs. BUT, when I try to install Office 2010 (32bit), I get an error message saying that setup.exe is not a valid 32 bit program. :confused:

    There's nothing wrong with the CD as it runs up normally when on a dedicated Windows box.

    Any ideas or help gratefully received.
     
  2. iClive thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Location:
    UK
  3. chibiterasu macrumors 6502

    chibiterasu

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Location:
    London, The United Kingdom
    #3
    Whats wrong with office 2011 for mac?? Save you running a virtual machine and waiting for that to start up. I know your have to buy office 2011 but its not that much and in my usage compatibility between it and office 2007/2010 has been fine.
     
  4. iClive thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Good question, and a very simple answer : the mac version of Office doesn't have Publisher
     
  5. chibiterasu macrumors 6502

    chibiterasu

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Location:
    London, The United Kingdom
    #5
    It kinda does, pretty much all publisher functionality is included in MS Word 2011 instead but in a different file format. You also know that Microsoft are slowly getting rid of publisher and that its not going to be a program in office 13 but added into word like on the mac.
     
  6. iClive thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    Thanks for the heads up! :eek:

    How do I read (or convert?) all my existing publisher files (.pub) with Mac Office?
     
  7. iClive thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    Solved!

    I had an idea and it worked :)

    I copied the DVD into the Windows mounted C: drive, which resulted in a folder called OFFICE14. Back to Windows and ran setup.exe from there and everything was sweetness and light. Weird but it worked.
     

Share This Page