Office 365 email on Apple Mail (Lion)

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by tdhurst, Dec 18, 2011.

  1. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #1
    Trying to set up an Exchange email through Apple Mail. Something is always off, whether it's a port, server or password.

    There's a ton of documentation out there, but everything is either for iOS or Outlook for Mac. Neither of those concern me.

    Help!
     
  2. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #2
    Setting up an Exchange account really isn't that different than setting up a normal account. If you have all the information you need, check to see if you entered it correctly.
     
  3. tdhurst thread starter macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #3
    Well yeah

    Yep, did all that. Getting an error that says the password isn't correct or that port 143 can't be reached. Once I enter I get the other error.

    Like a circle. A blue circle of death.

    Okay, not actually a circle. But you get my point.
     
  4. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #4
    Is this a work e-mail account? Maybe they don't allow external connections to the Mail server.
     
  5. tdhurst thread starter macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #5
    Good idea

    Not a problem here. The admin of the network gave me the account. He just simplified it because Outlook likely has an auto-setup feature not available on other mail programs.

    Means I just need to glance at his settings. I hope.
     
  6. BrianBaughn macrumors 601

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #6
    Try setting up the account in Address Book. Once your settings have been accepted there, you should be presented with the option to automatically add Mail and iCal.
     

Share This Page