Ok... decided to JB my 3G... but running into...

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by ~J~, Sep 14, 2009.

  1. ~J~ macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Location:
    3rd Rock from the sun
    #1
    Problems. First, heres the setup...

    MBP running 10.6.1
    iTunes 9
    iPhone 3G upgraded to 3.1 when it came out

    I know I need to downgrade to 3.0 or 3.01, and I have those ipsw files to do so. I've attempted to downgrade to both versions, but can't seem to get the phone up and running under either 3.0 or 3.0.1. I am using redsn0w to hack. Any advice? Do I need to downgrade iTunes as well to JB? There is no real error to report, the iPhone just shows that I need to connect to iTunes, but it will never actually connect. Help pls!

    Thanks!
    J
     
  2. bytethese macrumors 68030

    bytethese

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    Cranford, NJ
    #2
    Can you put the iPhone in DFU mode and restore to 3.0.1? If so, you should be able to use redsn0w 0.8 to jailbreak it. :) The iPhone 3G should have no issue downgrading, it's only us (like myself) 3gS users who cannot.
     
  3. ~J~ thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Location:
    3rd Rock from the sun
    #3
    I could put it in DFU mode before.. but that still didn't seem to completely downgrade it...
     
  4. bytethese macrumors 68030

    bytethese

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    Cranford, NJ
    #5
    I'm not sure what you mean. Can you restore your iPhone to a "normal" 3.0 or 3.0.1 state using DFU mode?
     
  5. ~J~ thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Location:
    3rd Rock from the sun
    #6
    Ok, this is where Im at right now...

    Option+restore in iTunes, selected 3.0 firmware. itunes & iphone said they installed fine, but after final reboot of the phone, it just shows the usb cable & itunes (telling me that i need to connect to itunes). itunes says that it has detected a phone in recovery mode and needs to restore the phone before it can be used. what do i do from here?
     
  6. bytethese macrumors 68030

    bytethese

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    Cranford, NJ
    #7
    You do as it says, you either restore from a previous backup or set it up as new. Once complete, run Redsn0w and then jailbreak it. :)
     
  7. ~J~ thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Location:
    3rd Rock from the sun
    #8
    It doesnt give me the chance to. If i just click RESTORE, it wants to restore and update. If i option+restore, i end up in a loop of restoring to 3.0 constantly. Setting up a new iphone isnt an option
     
  8. bytethese macrumors 68030

    bytethese

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    Cranford, NJ
    #9
    And you are using DFU mode and not recovery mode on your iPhone correct?
     
  9. ~J~ thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Location:
    3rd Rock from the sun
    #10
    Ok... after re-attempting the 3.0 downgrade, it goes thru the install, and then says "the iphone could not be restored, an unknown error occurred (1015)". I read to ignore this error, but maybe thats the problem.
     
  10. ~J~ thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Location:
    3rd Rock from the sun
    #11
    Ok... so Im not supposed to be restoring to 3.0 via itunes??
     
  11. bytethese macrumors 68030

    bytethese

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    Cranford, NJ
    #12
    You are not answering what I am asking. :)

    You are supposed to restore to 3.0 or 3.0.1 yes, but using DFU Mode NOT the simple Restore Mode.
     
  12. ~J~ thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Location:
    3rd Rock from the sun
    #13
    Ok, that makes sense. I was trying thru iTunes restore mode. What do I need to do to downgrade to 3.0 via DFU mode? I know how to get the phone in DFU mode...
     
  13. bytethese macrumors 68030

    bytethese

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    Cranford, NJ
    #14
    You don't need anything if you already know how to put the phone in DFU mode. Just put the iPhone in DFU mode, restore to 3.0 or 3.0.1 and set the device up (Restore from backup or set up as new). :)
     
  14. lavrishevo macrumors 68000

    lavrishevo

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    #15
    Use the second had of a clock or watch. Turn phone off. Hold down home plus power for exactly 10 seconds, release the power button at exactly 10 seconds, continue to hold the home button for an additional 10 seconds. Screen will remain black but you will be in DFU mode. Then option + restore in iTunes.
     
  15. SpaceKitty macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #16
    The phone DID downgrade to 3.0 but now since the baseband had been changed because of 3.1, it just stays in recovery mode.

    Search for iRecovery to kick it out of recovery and the phone will then be perfect again.
     
  16. ~J~ thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Location:
    3rd Rock from the sun
    #17
    Ok, i downloaded iRecovery and ran it, but its still in recovery mode. Here is the feedback from the iRecovery console:

    Last login: Mon Sep 14 00:52:14 on ttys000
    /Users/{user}/Downloads/iRecovery ; exit;
    new-host:~ $ /Users/{user}/Downloads/iRecovery ; exit;
    dyld: Library not loaded: /usr/local/lib/libusb-0.1.4.dylib
    Referenced from: /Users/{user}/Downloads/iRecovery
    Reason: image not found
    Trace/BPT trap
    logout

    [Process completed]
     
  17. SpaceKitty macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #18
    Have you done anything to the iPhone after you got the 1015 error and before iRecovery?
     
  18. ~J~ thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Location:
    3rd Rock from the sun
    #19
    No, I get stuck at that point and dont know what to do
     
  19. SpaceKitty macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #20
    And you used these commands in terminal?

    1) Start iRecovery in Terminal with iRecovery -s

    2) Execute the following commands:

    setenv auto-boot true
    saveenv
    /exit
    3) Reboot your iPhone (keep holding home + sleep for 10 seconds).
     
  20. ~J~ thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Location:
    3rd Rock from the sun
    #21
    i ran irecovery from the file it installed. i just tried to open terminal > typed the command iRecovery -s and got back "-bash: iRecovery: command not found"
     
  21. SpaceKitty macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #22
    I can't duplicate what you are getting because I am running Snow Leopard and iRecovery won't work properly with it. You need to find something that will get it out of recovery. That is your only issue now.
     
  22. ~J~ thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Location:
    3rd Rock from the sun
    #23
    Ah, so iRecovery wont run on SL?? Thats the prob then...

    EDIT: could i use iRecovery on another Mac running Leopard, but thats not the Mac I want to sync the phone with...
     
  23. SpaceKitty macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #24
    If you don't mind jailbreaking, run Redsnow and that will jailbreak and then get the phone out of recovery.
     
  24. ~J~ thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Location:
    3rd Rock from the sun
    #25
    No... haha, thats actually what Im trying to do!
     

Share This Page