Ok, I must be missing something...

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by skrutzen, Feb 15, 2008.

  1. skrutzen macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    #1
    How do I get 5.1 sound out of my rips? I have scoured threads and I don't seem to get anything to work right. I have HB, VH(trial version because I want to test before I purchase) and MTR. Someone please just give me an idea of what to to do.

    I know this: I have to use either HB, or MTR to rip my DVD and then drop it into VH. But my question is, is there a specific format that I have rip to? I've done just a chapter extraction in MTR where I've opened streams, chosen AC3 6CH (only this one is checked) and let it do it's thing. Now, when it's done, what files do I drop into VH? I've dragged both the AC3 file and movie file (.m2v) into VH convert it and when I play through my ATV, I get no sound.

    So if someone could give me a quick step by step, I'd be grateful. I've had my ATV since day 1 (3/22/07, in stores) and I have waited this long for proper 5.1.
     
  2. g808 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    #2
    Not sure if Handbrake supports 5.1 audio, but VisualHub now does. You can rip the movie from a DVD with 5.1 AC3 audio, then encode the VOB files in VisualHub using the iTunes "Apple TV 5.1" setting. If you have multiple VOBs for a movie, then you can have VisualHub merge them into a single .mp4 file.
     
  3. ascender macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    #3
    I think the Handbrake guys are working on a new version with 5.1 support for ATV in it just now. In fact I think there's developer builds already available with it in there, so it shouldn't be long before a new version is released hopefully.
     
  4. tronic72 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    #4
    I recently did my Star Wars DVDs and it was a piece of cake.

    1. Rip the DVD using MTR
    2. Open Visual Hub click on the 'iTunes" Tab and select optimise for Apple TV 5.1.

    I use the High Quality setting and the ripped files are about 2GB. You can use the Standard size and the files are about 1.5 GB.

    I'm totally over Handbrake at their crappy attitude. The forum moderators are on a serious power trip and have totally lost touch with the whole purpose of Support Forums.

    Go Visual Hub!!!!
     
  5. Markleshark macrumors 603

    Markleshark

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, Up Norf!
    #5
    Handbrake has fallen out with me. It's started quitting minutes before the end of an encode.

    VisualHub FTW indeed!!
     
  6. tronic72 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    #6
    I gotta ask of I won't be able to sleep.

    What's FTW???

    :confused:
     
  7. Markleshark macrumors 603

    Markleshark

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, Up Norf!
    #7
    For The Win. :D
     
  8. ascender macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    #8
    Handbrake has been crashing a lot for me when encoding so I might check out Visual Hub.
     
  9. Cordeiro macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    #9
    Visual Hub subtitles support

    Hello,

    Am I missing something or Visual Hub doesn't have support for subtitles?
     
  10. petvas macrumors 601

    petvas

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Location:
    Mannheim, Germany
    #10
    You are right. Actually Handbrake is much better than Visual Hub in converting DVDs to mp4. Visual Hub is very good if you have other movie formats you want converted in mp4. I use it all the time to convert mkv, avi and divx in mp4. It works pretty well

    If one day though Handbrake supported mkv files as a source format, then I would immediately start converting everything with it...
     
  11. dynaflash macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #11
    Um, there would be no reason to rip with HB then drop it into VH. That would be a redundant step. HB will rip right to an AppleTV compatible format.

    MTR -> VH -> AppleTV
    or
    HB -> AppleTV
    or (for some advance copy protection disks HB cannot handle itself)
    MTR -> HB -> AppleTV

    HB -> VH -> AppleTV : means you are compressing the movie twice from its source as well as taking an inordinately long amount of time.
     
  12. zedsdead macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #12
    Visual Hub is not using the best method for the AC3 since they are using the .MOV file extension.

    Handbrake is working on using the same method as Apple with .m4v/AC3 support. Should be out soon.

    Handbrake also allows for Chapter Markers. Won't use Visual Hub until they have full support for everything.
     
  13. spice weasel macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2003
    #13
    Amen.
     
  14. skrutzen thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    #14
    I understand that part but, what file am I putting into VH after MTR makes it's rip?
     
  15. MikieMikie macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Location:
    Newton, MA
    #15
    The easiest way is just to drag and drop the whole folder into the VH window. I have yet to figure out how to specify just a chapter.
     
  16. skrutzen thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    #16
    So when I rip using MTR, am I doing a full disc extraction? If so, am I then putting the .vob files into VH? I just tried doing that and it said it was going to take approximately 16hrs. to convert! That seems a bit long.
     
  17. MikieMikie macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Location:
    Newton, MA
    #17
    I have not figure out how to get VH to do anything but rip an entire DVD. When it does this, it does (like Handbrake) find the main movie/main title. It will not convert the menus, special features, etc.

    16 hrs. seems a bit much. Was this on "go nuts" or on the lower setting? What CPU/OS?

    It really makes a difference for encoding.
     

Share This Page